New York Beauty!!

Hi all,

This post is a little late.  But better late then never.  🙂

New York Beauty…. I think I am going to be making one of these now.

I thought for this one, I would go a little more in depth of my thought process so bear with me…

 

NYB1

I wanted to start by dividing this block but I didn’t want to just go with curves or straight lines.  I love how scrolls can look especially when they intertwine and go behind things… The first thing I started with was the middle diamond.  I was unsure of how this beauty was set with the other blocks so thought this was a safe way to  go regardless of how they were set.

I then drew one wavy line on each side going “under the piecing”.  I know, it’s another start and stop or traveling in the ditch to make it work but I think its worth it.  I then echoed back.  I’m normally not worried about making both sides match perfectly.  (life is too short for that) I then added the two scrolls coming from the middle of the diamond.

When I divide up a quilt, I need to LOVE the it.  So much so that if that were the only thing I was going to quilt, I’d be happy with it.

The center or bottom right area, I divided up with come curves.  Looks like a fan.  I would also stitch in the ditch everything.

Stay tuned for what happens next……

What will you create?

Lisa

PS:  I would love to see your New York Beauty’s ….. send them to Lisahcalle@me.com

5 thoughts on “New York Beauty!!

  1. Hi Lisa thank you so much for sharing your ideas with us. I just want to know how do you draw your scrolls? I find them difficult. thank you. vimla

Leave a Reply

