New York Beauty… con’t

Here is where we left off on Tuesday… its worth repeating… if you don’t like your dividing lines (the scrolls on this design that are dividing up the areas) you won’t like your end product!!

NYB1

You all know that I love feathers so that is what I decided to go with…. however, this design would look good if you skipped over the design work and just did fills…

NYB2

I added some  feather and some little pebbles along the scrolls.

NYB3

I then decided ribbon candy would look good in the 1/4 circle.  What do you think?  it will make the unquilted areas there pop.   I added some more feathers on the top scrolls as well.  I love straight lines next to feathers so that is the fill I did around the outside but since I didn’t want to be precise when I got to the feathers…. I stippled next to the feathers.  ( I do the straight lines first then go back and stipple over them.)  I put also used some pebbles and a curvy fill.

I like to use a couple of different fills as it lends some more interest to the quilt.

What do you think?  Do you have a New York Beauty you would like to share?  We would all love to see it. Send it to Lisahcalle@me.com

NYB4 NYB6 NYB7

I positioned the mirror in different corners.  I love all of them… which is your favorite?

Jean Greco sent me the next two pictures.  Thank you!  I think we all learn best from each other when we share..

Jeangreco1 jeangreco2

 

What will you create?

Lisa

4 thoughts on “New York Beauty… con’t

  1. Thank you Lisa. I love the NY Beauty suggestions for quilting. I would rather see the ribbon candy follow itself around the center. I am not too fond of the opposing angles it makes in the center. Maybe I am just too plain! Love this blog. Louise

  2. Lisa both of these are gorgeous… I must admit the NYB hasn’t been on my list”, but you have inspired me to put it there. I love the Ribbon candy center and (of course) the feathers around the points. This blog and your teaching are so generous… Thank you!

    Jo

Leave a Reply

