Keeping your Quilt Square!

Once you load your quilt, you may think that’s all that is needed to keep your quilt top square, however that may not be the case. When you quilt and depending on how heavy you quilt…. the top can pull in on the sides… this is why we have those side clamps!

My fabulous student, Janis, gave me and the other members of Quilter’s Groove® Tribe her secret and I thought I would pass it along to you.

This is a piece of bungee cord that I got on Amazon. My frame is 12′ so I bought the 25 yards. The little pink things, these are cord locks. I line these up with the seams in the quilt as well as the outer edges so that every time I advance the quilt, I can make adjustments if my quilt has shifted.

At first I tried to just tie the cord to the end of my machine but when I advanced the quilt it would drag. So off to Lowes to try and figure out what to do. I have a BERNINA Q20 on a frame and this is how I attached it.

Bought two of these, they were around $2 a piece.

I pulled back the black piece on the end of my machine and slipped the nut through while it was attached to the bolt. I then tightened it all up. Once I found what I needed, it was a very simple process.

Let me know in the comments how you keep your quilts square!!

5 thoughts on “Keeping your Quilt Square!

Leave a comment