Eaglemania

No, I’m not talking about the football team. Last night was what I consider my first night out since not drinking (I’m not counting going out to dinner). My brother, sister-in-law, and sister went to an interesting Cuban restaurant. I had thought that the food would be spicy, but two of the dishes were quite bland. Mine was delicious; it was kind of like a shrimp scampi.

We then saw an Eagles cover band, which was so much fun. I haven’t been to a concert in a while, and definitely my first with no alcohol. It was fun to watch people and great listening to the music, and I realized I knew all the songs. But the best part was knowing I would wake up, remember everything, and feel great! So here I am, sitting at my computer and feeling fantastic for not having poisoned my body the night before. Yeah me!!

I have some anxiety over what this summer will bring, knowing that my hobby of golf is definitely centered around drinking. I don’t have a fear that I will drink, just more about the people around me and how I will feel about the drunkenness. Being an adult child of an alcoholic brings back so many unpleasant memories of when I was a child. I now realize that I used alcohol to make me feel more comfortable in those situations. Interesting how I used alcohol to feel more comfortable with the alcohol situation around me…. food for thought, for sure!

7 thoughts on “Eaglemania

  1. I was the oldest and when I finished college and got married my siblings were 8 , 10 and 15. By then Mom was drinking heavily and smoking which lead to her passing at 62. We kids never started and only the youngest smoked and is on hospice now for lung problems. Neither my hubby or I started. I grew up where smoking was normal in the 40s and 50s. Cheers to you for continuing and life will be better.

  2. i quilt five years ago. I have to say I couldn’t take being around people getting lit. Had to make new friends . 

  3. Congratulations on not consuming alcohol. My husband and I quit when our oldest son turned 16 and started driving. We were very strong proponents of not drinking and driving. In order to be a strong example to him we stopped drinking entirely. We have no problem being around people who drink socially and most of them have not had a problem with us just drinking pop instead. It is uncomfortable when someone gets totally drunk but most of our friends understand. They just know if they are coming to our place to visit to bring their own alcohol or plan on drinking coffee or pop LOL.

    Our son is in his 40s now and we feel good about maintaining our example to the children.

Leave a comment