Today’s Mind Bender

It’s hard to believe Quilter’s Groove TRIBE will be three years old in June! It has been fun, frustrating, and rewarding all at once! The pandemic sure did a number on our quilting industry. As I mentioned in my previous blog post, I got a divorce in 2019, and in 2020, I was scheduled to have my most profitable year yet. I was set to travel almost every other week, so I would travel the weeks I did not have Brody (my youngest son). Then, in March 2020, life, as we all knew it, came to a screeching halt. I remember being in California and Florida right before we shut down the country. That was when it was called the Coronavirus.

But I digress. Back to the membership. In June 2021, I launched a monthly membership for machine quilters. Although the content is primarily for longarm quilters, it can also be used for domestic quilting. Since the pandemic, I have had to learn so much new technology that it has made my head spin. From filming and studio set up (which I am still working on, so if there are any techies out there, I’m all ears) to editing and live presentations, I have had to learn so much new technology. I think I have most of it down but we all know that tech changes daily… so who knows what I will be learning next week.

Today, I spent the day reviewing things for the membership and within the membership, as I have had a number of people drop out. I have an exit interview to determine why, but not everyone fills it out, so we can add detective to my never-ending list of hats that I wear. I thought I would find that the almighty dollar was the reason people were leaving and while some stated that finances were the issue, the overwhelming response was time. People seem to be busier than ever and they just don’t have time for themselves or their hobbies.

As a business owner, I know how much I need to make in order to make a living ( which is becoming increasingly hard to do in this industry) so I thought about lowering the price and I thought about raising the price (members that are current would see no increase as they are in at their price unless I decide to lower then they would benefit from that). I am a Taurus and those who know anything about zodiac signs… I’m pretty much the standard. It takes me a while to make a decision but once I do I move forward. Since I have no idea about pricing, I have decided to leave it as is which is $24.97/month. This seems like a real steal to me for everything you get. I won’t bore you with it but if you are interested, you can check it out here.

So now I think about the time factor…. how do I move forward with that information. I have determined that I will try and keep the monthly content to a manageable 45 minutes. That means that you will be able to consume the content in that amount of time. If it requires more than that, I will break it into bite-size sections. I have two thoughts on that: deliver a bit each week of the month or spread it over a couple of months. I haven’t made a decision on that.

A solopreneur wears so many hats, and it can be quite exhausting. Even when we aren’t “working,” we are thinking about work—at least this solopreneur is. Tomorrows agenda… I have to film more Design Decision Dilemmas for the membership, quilt, and look at the content within TRIBE to see if it can be organized in a better fashion. Oh yeah, and my 4:30am wake-up call to hit the gym!

Stay Tuned!

Lisa

3 thoughts on “Today’s Mind Bender

  1. I do miss the Tribe, but you are right that time is a huge factor! I’m retired & I still can’t find time to do everything I want to do! I still think of myself as a novice quilter & your beautiful quilting can be intimidating! You make it look so darn easy! Lol(that isn’t a criticism about your quilting!) Recent health issues have added a new burden but I will definitely keep up with the blog & all you share! 5AM? Good grief! Lol

    • I totally understand the time thing. I don’t have enough time in my day to do everything I want to do. I don’t want my quilting to intimidate…. I want it to inspire. 😊

Leave a comment