phew… it’s done…

So i have finished the move! I went from a big beautiful studio to a small quaint space.  I purged quite a bit of stuff that I totally didn’t need and it felt quite good.  Now I know the items in my studio will be well loved and well used.

Here is a video I put together when we built my old studio.  I will certainly miss all that space.

 

My new space is quite a bit much smaller but I am sure it will be just as effective as the bigger space.  I am hoping that it will make me more organized.  😂 I know it is probably wishful thinking.  Here are some pics of the new space.

Oh My Bleeding Heart has a new home.

Rulers are hung and there is space for more…..

No Judging!  Yes, I know my stash is small but it is mighty!

Now since my space is small, there was not room for the rulers and all my teaching stuff inside so thank goodness I have a garage.  But it is nice and organized.

What must haves are in your studio?  Love to hear.

15 thoughts on “phew… it’s done…

  1. Lisa, I had to rebuild my studio as the addition added on to my home over 30 years ago was falling apart! I have a wood stove, which I love, skinny wall cabinets and I absolutely love my new chairs as they are sleek and not cumbersome! From Container store, bungee cord chair!

  2. Must haves? It might be easier to list what I don’t need! 😉 I need it all! I don’t have room for a longarm, but I *love* my Bernina with its extended throat space, as well as the table it sits in. The back leaf of the table has to be down most of the time in order to get into the room, but when it’s up for quilting I just squeeze past it or duck under it to access the little closet. It’s a huge improvement over the closet I used to stitch in! 🙂

  3. It looks smaller, but very nice and there is still wall space…where is your thread storage? I think you will eventually need to find somewhere in your house for a growth in your stash, but it doesn’t have to be in the same room. You do different kind of quilts than I do and probably don’t need a whole set of colors and textures. Sending good thoughts for your getting in there and making good friends with your cute new studio. Hugs.

  4. Congrats! We moved a few weeks ago and I still dream of getting my sewing/quilting stuff unpacked. Yours looks great. One of my must-haves spurring the move are windows! I found myself becoming a quilting night owl because I hated missing the daylight when located completely underground. New space is a sunroom. Making storage in it near impossible, but I love my windows!! Can you find out the depth of the cut to make your ruler holders? Thanks!

  5. I know your living space has changed… Are you still playing golf? Randi

    On Mon, Mar 4, 2019 at 3:01 PM Lisa H Calle’s Blog wrote:

    > lisahcalle posted: “So i have finished the move! I went from a big > beautiful studio to a small quaint space. I purged quite a bit of stuff > that I totally didn’t need and it felt quite good. Now I know the items in > my studio will be well loved and well used. Here is a vi” >

  6. My Must Have, that I don’t have and can’t have (at least, at this time) is a Long Arm! I could make room for it, but then there’s the whole money thing. So what I Must Have that I do have is a my fabric stash….I’m amazed at how minimalist you are with yours. I love your ruler holders, but don’t have the wall space for that…my husband owns most of the wall space in my sewing room…I own the floor space. Fair trade, I think.

  7. Just to be nosy, why did you move? Seems like I saw something where it said that you only moved 10 miles away. Like your new space.

Leave a comment