Juice, Juice and more Juice

I just finished a 3-day juice cleanse and will be happy to NOT see juice for a while.

Photo by Toni Cuenca on Pexels.com

Why did I decide to do it? There were a couple of reasons. I have been working out 3 days a week since December and have not lost any weight; I have gained weight. I have heard muscle weighs more than fat, and I am building muscle, but I also think menopause has a lot to do with it.

I also wanted to reset my gut. I have stomach issues and always feel like I am bloated, which is very uncomfortable. So, I thought giving my delicate tummy a break from food would make it happy.

Aging is not for sissies! So my dear friend Karen, with whom I go to the gym, said… hey, I’m thinking of doing a juice cleanse… wanna do it with me? 🤔 Sure! Why not? So we ordered the packets… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07L5Z9QK4?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details … and planned our days. We decided a Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday would be best. We figured the first day would be ok… the second day would be more challenging (we go to the gym at 4:30am on Mondays) and I had no idea what Tuesday would bring.

Saturday night, I stopped eating at about 6pm…

Day 1: I played golf with friends, and my son Brody walked the 18. Felt great! I only drank 6 of the 8 packets. Surprisingly, the protein and the greens were the easiest for me to drink. The citrus and berry ones I did not like. I thought it would have been the opposite. Slept well!

Day 2: Went to the gym and had a great workout despite not eating. This is when it gets hard. Around mid-day, all I could think about was food. I wanted something salty, and just drinking juice made me want to 🤮. I was definitely hangry! But I forged on, but again, I only drank 6 of the 8 packets. My stomach did NOT like the citrus at all. Took a hot shower and went to bed early because… well frankly, I was freaking hungry and could not stop thinking about food.

Day 3: I just kept thinking … you got this! You only have to make it til 5pm as I was having dinner with my bestie. I felt nauseous and lightheaded and did not want to drink any more juice, but I did. I only got 5 of the 8 packets down.

I was never so happy as to sit in a restaurant and order food. We have been to this place before and the food is good. The cleanse suggested that you eat fruits and vegetables your first meal, so we ordered hummus with veggies and I ordered a salad with salmon. I was disappointed, while the food was excellent, it wasn’t the great experience I had thought it would be. After not eating for 3 days, I probably could have had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and it would have been amazing.

So I survived my first juice cleanse and will do another towards the end of the summer. But I will be getting a juicer and making my own. I feel like real juice vs powder will be more satisfying and I will have more flavors/fruits and vegetables to choose from.

My question to you as readers…. what do you do when your tummy feels bloated all the time? I eat healthy, no alcohol, no sodas, no carbonation, lots of fruits and veggies, no junk food. Any advice?

Also would love to know if you’ve tried a juice cleanse!

20 thoughts on “Juice, Juice and more Juice

  1. Have you talked to a Gastrointerologist? I would suggest doing that and if you haven’t had a colonoscopy, get one scheduled. There is a diet called the FODMAP diet that addresses a variety of issues, mostly designed for constipation or diarrhea gastro issues, but it might be worth researching. There are SO many things that can impact your gut! But congratulations for doing the cleanse and taking control of your health! Great job. 🙂

  2. the juice cleanse sounds interesting I wonder how I could do that with being the chief cook around here. I have lost 50 pounds cutting sugar over the past year or so but have stalled. I am 72 and started doing a one or two mile walk dvd everyday. I know I look better but wish I could drop another 15 to 20. So I will investigate juice cleansing.

  3. Twelve years ago my primary suggested a food allergy test when I presented with similar symptoms. Turned out, the top 3 culprits were coffee, wheat/gluten, and yeast. Cut out wheat and gluten, cut back to one cup of coffee (instead of the iced coffee I was drinking all day. Yeast is harder to remove because it’s in so many things, so I haven’t removed it completely, but just eliminating the first 2 made a huge difference. I agree that you should see a gastroenterologist.

  4. I enjoy doing a cleanse too when feeling bloated and bogged down but I use bone broth. We eat a long of whole chicken and I save all the bones and collagen to make the broth. The longest I’ve done is 5 days.

  5. I was going to suggest consulting with your doctor also. There can be many different reasons for how you are feeling. A gastroenterologist would be a good starting point.

  6. A gastronomic Doctor had me do FODMAP last Year he said google it. My sister and I both did it. She found out onions and garlic. For me it is dairy in excess. I can have a squirt of whip on my iced coffee but no more mochas. Then some vegetables and more than a handful of nuts. It was not terrible to be on. He said his young daughter has a bunch of food allergies and this is how they figured it out. I recommend it if you have tummy issues try.

  7. research Magic
    menopause and dr Anna Cobeca, the Girlfriend Doctor!! She’s amazing and my brain fog, fatigue, bloating have left and I’ve lost 11 lb in 5 weeks!!

  8. Hi Lisa! You go girl! Have you been tested for H pylori? It’s a bacteria that causes GI symptoms…

    a juice cleanse- I have a juicer but always feel bad about throwing out all the fiber…I think green smoothies are better for me. And an excellent way to increase the fruit and veggies in your diet. Keep trying to see what works for you😁

  9. I’m a retired RN and I am not a fan of a juice cleanse or for that matter any kind of a cleanse, unless I’m booked for a colonoscopy. Lol… A cleanse actually removes a lot of the healthy bacteria in the colon which is not really a good thing. I too have some bloating but I take a daily pro biotic for women which I feel decreases the bloating issue.

  10. I know it sounds crazy to a lot of people but maybe listen to Dr. Ken Berry, Steak and Butter Girl and research some on carnivore/keto diet. I feel great when I am on the carnivore diet with no food cravings and no hunger feeling. One of the nicest parts is the absence of gas (farts) LOL. It takes a couple of weeks to get past the initial changes to the diet but then it is great.

  11. Oh goodness Lisa, I don’t know what was in those ‘packets’ but no way would I have made it all 3 days. That said, for years now, I start the day with a morning smoothie. I put fruit and veg’s I like and tolerate, unflavored greek yogurt, and whatever else catches my fancy, with enough liquid to make it the consistency I like. If I add protein powder, it’s unflavored. This can taste really good, not something you have to ‘get through.’ It sounds like some of your favorite foods might be causing the gastric issues, I agree with others about allergy testing.

  12. I cut out all sugars (including fake) and carbs (rice, potatoes, breads, pasta). Now I eat meats, veggies, eggs, healthy fats like butter, tallow, bacon fat, olive oil. Basically nothing that has a list of ingredients. Eliminated bad seed oils because they mess with your mitochondria. Holy cow do I feel good, more energy, lost 18 lbs my first 6 weeks, no sugar cravings, brain fog gone. Try it for 30 days.

  13. talk to a Doctor! You may have an ulcer. Feeling bloated was a strong indicator that something is not right. That is how I felt when I had stomach ulcers.

Leave a comment