Perks of Having a Design Wall

unknown-6

Oh my precious design wall, where would I be without you?  I really can’t even contemplate that question because I have no idea what I would do without being able to utilize that space of open creativity.

images-113

Yes I would be lost without my design board!

The benefits of utilizing a design board.

different-perspectives1

By placing fabric on my design board I am able to perceive various viewpoints of the final product I will eventually make.  Having my project lying flat on my table, the design, may look completely different from anything that I observed when it was positioned vertically.

Below I have displayed some of my ruler samples utilizing my design board.  Of course these samples are completed so there is no tweaking involved, however, you can see how I have the capability to view them upright.  This allows me to decide whether I am comfortable with the project both in a horizontal and vertical positions.

9b9e482b-d16e-463e-90d4-7b793d6fcf43-jpg

 

images-114

 

 

 

 

Yes, I audition my fabric for each of my designs.  I don’t just assume the material I have chosen is going to be a success.  Remember I am a WIP!  Ideas don’t always fall into place the way I had initially intended; so I put forth a little preview prior to making a commitment. No, they aren’t contestants on “Project Runway” but there are times when I must shake my head at what I thought would work perfectly and say:

unknown-54

Using my design board to perceive how my piecing will come together on a quilt is wonderful!  Laying out the rows ahead of time for chain piecing…. Will my hands come together in exciting, or will my eyebrows furrow in dismay?  I’d much rather do a trial run on my design board and have to reconfigure its look prior to sewing rather THAN discovering I am not a fan of its look.

Do you use a design board? What are the perks of your design board?

 

6 thoughts on “Perks of Having a Design Wall

  1. Hi Lisa I don’t have a design board😂I lay my project out on the living room rug and climb a few steps for a view 🙃

  2. I have one…..but it’s covered by a large paper applique pattern at the moment. I’m going to have to figure out where to put the big 6 x 6 foot design so I can use it again. It’s been that way for almost 2 years….

  3. I am blessed to have a large, double wall. Each wall is on a roll like a window blind so I can have two full size quilts in progress at a time. It really is a great tool when designing/auditioning. I take pictures of multiple layouts and then have a record so I can return to the layout of choice as well as having a record of the work in progress that goes into my journal of quilts. Don’t know how I would function without it. My only desire would be one that holds a King size layout, but that would mean I’d need a taller ladder. Sigh!

  4. I also use a design wall and would be LOST without it! Right now I am making another chuppah and it’s a mural of sky, mountains, sea and sand. I have auditioned many fabrics. I usually leave them for a day and look at them in the daylight, nighttime and sometimes it doesn’t even take that long before it’s rejected. Just love the design wall!!!

  5. I do have a design wall. I not only use it to step back and look at but I mainly use it to square up my wall hangings. I have two permanent lines drawn (one across the top and then down the right side) which squares up top and one side and depending on the measurements of the other two sides I use a water soluble marker according to that size and then pin like crazy. By the time it drys the water lines are gone and I am ready for the next quilt.

  6. I love my design walls, I couldn’t believe the amount of pleasure they add to the design process. The first one I had got “lost” by the removal company. I don’t know how you lose a 2m x 2m masonite wall on a frame. So my husband built me another in our new house the same size. When I got a sewing room in the next house, my husband put that new one up and couldn’t be bothered transferring to the next sewing room in the house (as my kids moved out, I was able to steal their rooms) so he built me another that’s about 3.5m x 2m. Oh the luxury of two design walls! I usually only work on one quilt at a time but at the moment there are two on the one wall so they are both staring at me when I enter the room. I just wish the rooms were bigger so I can step back from the wall to look at my work from a distance or take good photos. Sometimes I have to go outside and view the work through the window. I velcro felt to the frame and it they work perfectly. The largest one has a cutout around the power point located on that wall.

Leave a Reply

