Social Media Take One

unknown-5

AND ACTION…

Facebook, Tweeter, Snapchat, and Pinterest are just a few of the many social media sources that we all utilize to share our business and craft of quilting.  The internet is amazing in providing us with the such ample opportunities to connect with one another.  I did say amazing, but the word “amazing” encompasses the amazingly good, the amazingly  bad and the amazingly ugly!

I love providing information, and instruction for peers in this arena that would like to enhance their quilting skills.  I recently have taken to trying out Facebook Live as a different approach to sharing my work rather than simply posting to Facebook or Youtube.

images-100

 All we want to do is share in a positive manner, correct? Well, this where we leave the “amazingly good” and step into the “amazingly bad” and “amazingly ugly”.

I am extremely lucky to have such a responsive group of followers.  Most of whom provided me with incredible insight on what they have experienced after viewing or reading my material on social media.  However, there are those that feel the need to express certain opinions, or statements that have me wondering “Didn’t their elders teach them that if they can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all”?  Apparently they didn’t absorb that little life lesson.  Constructive criticism is part of life, that I get, and that I truly appreciate.  However, social media does open up Pandora’s Box and allows those random few to spread negativity into my sites.  This is where we notice the amazingly ugly.

I’d like to say:

unknown-49

That’s right, I politely say no thank you to those that insist on using my social media as a soap box for their little thoughts.  If I wanted your unkind opinions and comments I would ask for them. I do not.

And secondly:

unknown-50

I purposely provide videos and informational posts on various social media that won’t cost anyone a dime, nickel or penny.  Close the tab, screen, whatever and one would be “Lisa Free”!

So to all those lovely social media resources that I have implemented into my business, I am grateful for all the connections I have made and continue to make on a daily basis.   But to all my viewers I would like to remind everyone that it is “my” sandbox.  I am more than happy to invite anyone who is willing to play nicely to join me.  If you aren’t going to play nice then stay away from “Lisa’s” sandbox!

images-105