Walking Through the Past and Reminiscing

unknown-39

 

Recently I have been reworking my class handouts and my trunk show, “Lisa H Calle’s Trunk Filled with Anything but Junk”, which incidentally makes it tweaked debut at the AQS Lancaster Quilt Show.  Yes, there was a small shameless plug about my upcoming Trunk Show in the previous statement.  But moving right along, I have been sifting through my older quilts (for the upcoming show..shameless plug #2) and since I was overwhelmed with fond memories I felt the need to share some of my favorites projects with you!

First, is Hula Hibiscus!  I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this quilt!  This piece undoubtedly taught me the most!  And through all the learning curves I cannot say enough how much I LOVE this quilt.  Do you get the idea that I love this piece?

Hula Hibiscus Unquiltedhulahibiscusfullshot-1

Hula Hibiscus center

Hula Hibiscus center

For more details on how this quilt came to life check out my youtube video, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ccudgni0sq8

 

As I reflect on the portion of my quilting journey when I quilted for customers, I am taken back to “sew” many fun days!  Here are some of the projects I completed that were an absolute blast to produce.

 

And then there are those that I truly miss having in my possession.  For one reason or another they were given away, but in my heart they will forever hold a special place.

There are many more pieces I could share with you, but you would then have to neglect other business, and family responsibilities.  Let’s face it I’ve been doing this for a long time and  you could be here for a quite awhile!  I refuse to believe that I’m the only one out there that does this every so often, or am I?

Do you have quilts that you find yourself thinking about with fond memories, or projects that have changed you in some way? I’d love to see what quilts have meaning to you!unknown-40

3 thoughts on “Walking Through the Past and Reminiscing

  1. Love your quilting LIsa and love looking at your beautiful quilting. I too have one challenging to me quilt that I never dreamed I’d have the abilities to do. I do customer quilts and one lady not to long after I started quilting other peoples quilts and all she told me was please load it with feathers. At the time I was somewhat new at doing feathers and so I was feeling more than intimidated by the thought that she wanted her modern quilt “loaded with feathers”. I loaded the quilt on my frame and just stared at if for a number of days before taking the plunge. And once I got started on it, I just loved how beautiful it was. Quilting really makes the quilt and love watching the evolution happen. Keep up the good work Lisa…

Leave a Reply

