Go On…

 

I really try to expand my repertoire with each quilt I design. I achieve this by incorporating a new technique; whether it be in the quilting, piecing, or appliqué, somewhere in my layout.   A feathered star quilt is o ne that I have been longing to make, yet I have evaded this design due to the odd angles.  I realize a feathered star is far from being a new skill; but I continue to side step any forward motion due to insecurities .  I do very little executing on the EQ 7 but admittedly I  have played around with the feathered star (see below picture).

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-1-04-23-pm

 

Unfortunately no “YES!” moments have emerged, or any results that I perceive to love.  So I suppose I will have to persevere and hope one day I will have a light bulb moment and a feathered star quilt design will appear in my head.

Who else has a technique they have been meaning to try? Or maybe there is a quilt design that you have thoughts of completing?

images-95

 

 

18 thoughts on “Go On…

  1. No new ideas here, Lisa, but I do love feathered stars. Designing them in EQ works very well, and construction using Marsh McCloskey’s method makes what might be tricky much easier. 🙂

  2. Lisa I have a Feathered Star quilt that is on its way to Lancaster Quilt Show. Maybe it will be your “lightbulb” moment. I couldn’t get EQ7 to do what I wanted so drafted the background for myself.

  3. I will do a Pickle Dish and Cleopatria’s Fan before I’m pushing up daisies!!!! I absolutely will!!! I think both of these patterns will present some challenges.

  4. Struggling with designing an Irish thatched cottage scene for the center of a large Irish chain quilt. And also a forest scene with a log cabin and lake for the center of a log cabin quilt. Not finding inspiration in what I can find on the internet nor at the library. Boo hiss, I going to stop for a while to design dimensional oak leaves and acorns applique for another big quilt.

  5. A Lone Star – after nearly 30 years of this craft I am still rubbish at piecing. My loves being free motion quilting and applique BUT I so want to make one of these.

  6. My list includes finishing my 5000 piece picture pieced Lake Louise quilt (about 20% done) then finish my 3D Machine applique Viking shield quilt, then do a Greek/Roman style mosaic quilt and then an Aztec style stone wall kind of quilt. In reality, I should be doing a whole-cloth to promote my books!

    Dianne61, I love your ideas with the landscape scenes!

    I made a feathered star in fern/forest prints years ago and loved it!

  7. Wow, how do I narrow my response. I finally tried applique. While it came out good, I learned it’s not my favorite. What have I avoided, and will tackle in 2017? Launching t shirt and long-arm business after retiring. Am finally excited enough to do it!

    • Go for it, Karen, good on you! I finally revisted applique the other year after 20 years of avoiding it. I tried Alex Anderson’s method and found I liked it (painting on starch) and it worked. I changed my opinion of it and that’s why I started the 3D applique and decided to make it work anyway I could. It’s also the reason I want to do some mosaic style quilts on the machine. Piecing is still my first love though, I just want to stretch my skills out of my comfort zone. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

