Blowing Off Quilting Steam

unknown-42

We all need to do it; those moments, or days that have you ready to blow and I don’t mean blowing out celebratory candles.  No on the contrary, it’s those particular quilting segments that have you feel as though one more nanosecond in the studio will have you evolving into the Exorcist.

How do I Handle those Moments?  There are two answers to that question.  But my main objective is to remove myself from my working space, run from my working space if need be.  Because let’s face it nothing productive is going to transpire while I am feeling like this way.images-82

 

 

 

 

   Golfing

Oh Yeah! My most prized sport and means of releasing quilting frustration.  This extra curricular activity provides 18 holes of deliberately whacking a little white ball. Seriously what better way to “Let it Go”?  I generally walk the course so the exercise I acquire while traveling the greens helps turn my frown upside down.  And if my game isn’t go very well, at least I have a little white ball to take it out on.  So with my clubs in hand I am able to focus on something other than fabric,  the longarm machine, or whatever else is driving me to madness.images-84Hot Yoga

Regardless of what Drea has said, Hot Yoga is my second choice for seeing those puffs of frustration smoke go bye-bye.  So what if the room is 104 degrees with 40% humidity, and so what if Drea tells me I have lost my marbles, Hot Yoga works for me.  After getting over the initial drippage of sweat that creates a light rain shower on my yoga mat, I love NOT having to think about ANYTHING! This is all about me, my mind and body coming together, and after an hour and a half I feel fabulous!

images-86How do you relieve days that are composed of quilting frustration and have you wanting to yell from the hilltops?  Life is too short to neglect creating or having an escape from negativity; so how do you bring positivity to you day?images-87

18 thoughts on “Blowing Off Quilting Steam

  1. I take my guns to the range and practice for half an hour. It’s better than you think and if anyone ever tried to get in my house or studio they would not enjoy the result. I may be old but I’m lethal😄

  2. Love Dianne’s comment! But as I am usually listening to an “oldies station”, I dance! Then I leave the quilting room and pour a glass of wine (but only if it’s really bad). Because I’d rather dance! And usually it’s too early in the day for wine😜!

  3. Lisa, if Molly Culp doesn’t mind, can you share the answer to her question about how to keep cross hatching straight on a quilt? I’m a relatively new quilter and may try cross hatching on a quilt that I am currently piecing. Thank you.

    • Hi Judith, I do not normally crosshatch a whole quilt, I find it boring when there are so many ways to jazz things up. If I were going to do a whole quilt, I would probably mark it to make sure that I got it even. I opt for dividing up my quilt and maybe having some floating crosshatching so I don’t have to worry about things matching. I know that probably doesn’t help too much.

  4. the whole quilt it’s applique and I think crosshatching is the only way maybe not the border or part of inside and not the outside . I’m a relatively new quilter and may try cross hatching on a quilt that I am currently piecing.

Leave a Reply

