Corner Pop Tool by 180 Studio Design

I’m not afraid to say it, I am not the world’s best piecer when it comes to quilting.  It is one of a few weaknesses in my quilting process; so when I encounter a mechanism that assists me with accuracy I am going to shout it out to the world!

YES MY PIECING ABILITIES COULD USE A BIT OF ASSISTANCE!!!  imgres-4

Not too long ago, ok, let me be honest it was  quite a while ago, I purchased a ruler that is now my “Great Oz” for piecing.  Now I know you all have tools that you have forgotten existed and upon their discovery you think “OMG why was I making life so difficult? ”  Well that long-lost prized item for me is the Corner Pop tool  from Studio 180 Design .  I will NEVER lose sight of this tool EVER again(unless one of my family members finds another use for it like my Karen Kay Buckley scissors).  Uncertain of  its effectiveness, age does terrible things to memory,  I pulled out a little bit of fabric from my very little stash assuming that I would only make a block.  Remember I couldn’t quite remember how well this tool worked.  Ah, let’s just say that I was kicking myself wishing I hadn’t chosen a fabric that I was so limited in possessing.  I am so impressed with how easy this tool is to use.  The Corner Pop tool is great for creating snowball blocks ( it would have been a great asset when completing my last project) as well as putting a pop of color into corners of practically any block.

img_2106

How does the tool work?  Take a minute and view Deb’s wonderful tutorial.

 

I chose the same size square to make my life easier, I am all about easy, which is a 9″ square.

img_2108 img_2109

Ok so far so good, but now I am confronted with my biggest problem, sewing the pieces together.  Ugh, my triangles never seem to fill the whole area.  However, using this clever invention eliminated that concern since the blocks are slightly larger, they actually had me trimming them down. This was so enjoyable! Since my confidence and enthusiasm were growing I stepped outside my “piecing zone” and not only incorporated one corner pop BUT two!!  Watch out piecing world here comes Lisa!

The striped fabric and the brownish colored material display my Corner Pops.  I vacillated for quite some time on what color fabric to use, purple, tan or mustard.  As Deb shares in her wonderful video the “PoPabilities” are endless, and she is right on point!

img_2115

Once the blocks were applied my mind was brimming with ideas so I thought “Why stop now?”  After reeling my thoughts together I opted to insert some rectangles in order to complete the squares on the point that I had established on the design.

img_2111

Is it obvious I am in love with this tool? Well in case you weren’t sure, let me just share that I just ordered the Diamond Rects AND  V Block tools.  Are you convinced now?  I highly suggest you check out their Facebook page!

Here is my finished top…. wish I had more of this fabric… 😦

corner-pop-quilt

No affiliation I am simply a very happy customer.  Isn’t that the best kind of referral to give and receive?

Have you lost and found a little treasure? Maybe it was hiding in a drawer, or stuffed in a closet amongst other miscellaneous items?  I can’t be the only keeper of a lost treasure!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Corner Pop Tool by 180 Studio Design

  1. LOVE Deb Tucker’s tools! I did the same — bought the Lemoyne Star and Hunter Star tools at a conference because the demo was awesome, then put them in a pile. When I finally dug them out again I was amazed at how simple they were and how perfect the results were.

  2. Lisa,
    Thank you for introducing me to this tool. I have avoided these kind of triangle corners for exactly the reasons you mentioned. If it works as well as you say (and what I see in the video), I will start making them left and right (and with no tears).

Leave a Reply

