Quilting into 2017

The ball in Times Square counted down into the New Year, the radio stations revealed the top songs of 2016, and all the fashion magazines are now covered with the newest styles for 2017.  So 2016 is part of my past and 2017 is now here and ready me for me to tackle.  Which brings me to contemplating my goals for the next 12 months.unknown-8

ENJOY and RISK

They may be two short words but behind those letters are huge meanings and an abundance of possibilities.  The doors that will have the capability of opening, should I decide to turn the knob, is limitless.

ENJOY

Such a simple word; yet so often put aside throughout the course of my day.  Finding “enjoyment” in my day is significant.  Although I love quilting and all that my business encompasses, stress often swoops in and flies off with my positive energy.  This is just unacceptable!  So goal #1 is to be more mindful of the ENJOYMENT surrounding me.  Whether it is the sound of my machine, a comment I have received, the many orders I have that need to be filled, homework with my youngest son, enjoyment can be found in abundance each day.

unknown-9

RISK

This word has me running scared!images-7

What if I’m unsuccessful?  What if I make the wrong decision?  What if, what if, what if?  Isn’t that the theme of life? And isn’t that what keeps many of us from growing in the business world and in our personal lives? Well, speaking for myself it most certainly does.  The unknown is quite frightening; and holds me back.  My reluctance in taking RISKS is keeping me from reaching and touching the stars.  If I keep worrying about the “what ifs”, there will never be any reaching, never mind, touching the stars.  This quilter wants to touch the stars and then head for the moon!  So RISKS will be taken in the future.  Whatever the outcome may be, I will learn and grow for each one.  Moreover, I will ENJOY the fact that I actually worked on goal #2 for 2017 and took some RISKS!

Do you have any goals for 2017? Whether it is related to quilting or not, I’d love to hear from you. We gain inspiration from one another, so your comment might just be the motivation someone else needs, SO PLEASE share!

19 thoughts on “Quilting into 2017

  1. I love your goals:enjoy and risk! Hope you don’t mind be but I think I will adopt these for my new year resolutions…. I’ll let you know how I do!

  2. FINISH ! ….so many things that I am excited about that are still in boxes and yardage. This leads to its own stress , and disappointment in myself….

    • Lisa, risk is always scary when it is not backed up by diligent research of all the “what ifs”. Even then there is risk but without risk nothing would be changed, designed, built, etc. If you fall, not fail, your friends and family will help you get back on track and upright. It is what we do…support and encourage each other. Go for it.

  3. I’m going to finish long arming my HUGE Baltimore album quilt. It’s 1/2 done but I need to take it off and quilt some other things

  4. Go for Everything! I so regret thinking I was already to “old” to embark on some of my dreams! Owning my own quilt shop—-teaching on the national circuit—publishing my own patterns! Now, at 77 yrs. of age I still want to do it!

  5. My word for this year is Consider. I published a quilting book in 2016 and am doing some teaching in 2017 and considering what I really want to do with the industry or if I really just want to quilt 🙂

  6. My goal for 2017 is to be in the present at all times, giving my complete attention to what I’m doing and who I’m with.

  7. Lisa, risk is always scary when it is not backed up by diligent research of all the “what ifs”. Even then there is risk but without risk nothing would be changed, designed, built, etc. If you fall, not fail, your friends and family will help you get back on track and upright. It is what we do…support and encourage each other. Go for it.

  8. Risk is a great goal….what is gained if you never take a risk…or a chance…or a leap of faith? Go for it! I plan on joining you! And to enjoy the journey!

  9. Risk is a great goal. I’m not going to worry about what others think of my quilting. I’m doing it for myself and I enjoy it. When I get over the wobbles, then I’ll start quilting for a few other people. One step at a time.

Leave a Reply

