To Be or Not To Be…

We all have had this issue, you have a quilt in front of you and after much tweaking the design won’t come together.  You have soul searched, prayed, and regardless of what you have done this project has gained the title the QUILT from HELL.

images-40

The question then arises, how do I get through this nightmare?

First it depends on whether it is a customer quilt or a personal project.  With regards to customer quilts, all I can say is “Pull up those big girl/boy pants and power through the design”.  I have found that rewarding myself in various ways has gotten me through those quilts that I wanted to tear to shreds.  Sometimes all it takes is a few pieces of chocolate, yes chocolate never hurts!  Other times I stop working and take a break from the negative feelings that are consuming me at that time. Removing myself from the studio for a small period of time often alleviates the frustration and angst. Whether I take an extended lunch, or call  a friend, doing something totally unattached to quilting can reboot my mind and give me the positive energy needed to tackle the project again.

Personal pieces; that’s a whole other ballgame.  images-41

Can you relate to the picture above? I know I can! Thank goodness it doesn’t happen often, but there are those quilts that just kill us.  You had a vision, you’ve dreamt about your masterpiece and all the beauty it would hold once it was completed.  The fabric that spoke to you, the design you’ve done and redone, somehow it just doesn’t come together.  AND that’s where it ends, for me.  Those rare occasions are what make up my:

unknown-20

 

 

 

 

So yes: unknown-18

Life is too short, for me, to spend several days, weeks, or months on a piece that I absolutely loathe.  Especially if I have tried rewarding myself, and have taken breaks from the project; yet I still  find myself out of tune with what I am trying to produce.  I conquer with Disney’s movie Frozen and say “Let It Go”.

How do you handle quilts that push you to your limits?