Relationships with Rulers

“Lisa, what is your favorite or most used ruler?”  That is the question that I frequently encounter.   My response is always “My ProEcho’s.”  Why are they my tool of choice?  My ProEcho’s are used daily whether it is for quilting or drafting out a design.  My next BFF is the ProLine 8.  Believe it or not the ProLine 8 is what started me on this crazy journey of template designing.  The idea of designing templates was not an overnight epiphany.  Life would have much simpler if I had woken up one day and said “Hey, I think I will design some templates starting today.”

My initial goal was performing perfectly straight lines, 1/8″ apart.  Attempting to accomplish this by drawing them free-handed wasn’t very successful, and I was far from happy with the results.

straightlinehh

I wanted perfection so I put my thinking cap on and eventually the ProLine 8 became a reality.  Out of all the ProLine rulers I gravitate towards working with the ProLine 8 and 16 the most.  The best things come in small packages, right? I know the lines appear very small but I love the look of straight lines next to the curves.

Below is a video of a straight line fill.  They are quite easy to use and will provide the look of perfection that many of us quilters demand to see.

Incorporating this fill in place of a small stipple is one of my favorite things to institute on one of my designs.  These amazing rulers are very versatile, and can be used on any longarm, mid arm or domestic machines that have a high shank.

If you haven’t given the ProLine or the ProEcho rulers a chance then you are missing out!  Why don’t you give them a whirl? If my theory is correct you will most likely shake your head and say “ProLine/ProEcho where have you been all my quilting life?”

Once you’ve had you’re first date with one of these rulers let me know how it went.  Did they have you at hello?

 

11 thoughts on “Relationships with Rulers

  1. They had me at “hello”!!! Rare is the quilt that I don’t use a ruler on – I love how they make my quilting look so good and they are so easy for me to use!!!

  2. Pingback: ProEcho Rulers, What’s the Big Fuss? | Lisa H Calle's Blog

Leave a Reply

