A 1:1 with the Non Quilter

I’ve introduced Drea to the Quilting Language; and daily she is picking up the verbiage.  As she digs deeper into the ins and outs of my business I thought it would be interesting to obtain a “non quilter’s” (aka Drea) insight on what she feels about this craft.  Did she have any preconceived notions, and most importantly what has my newest member of the quilting world learned?

img_4171I appreciated the fact that she gave much consideration before providing me with her thoughts and feelings on the selected topic.  I am quite certain there was a little intimidation stirring within that little red-head of hers.  Drea may be a newbie but she is a smart cookie. Knowing that this little discussion was for my blog post, the idea of defending herself against quilting clients, friends and mentors wouldn’t be on Drea’s top 10 things to do.  More importantly,  this conversation was among her and her boss (ME), the one who hands her a pay check every two weeks.  Yes, I was silently sending the vibes of “Take your time Drea and speak carefully!”

Did she have any preconceived notions of the word “quilter”?

Yes she did.  Prior to stepping into my studio she had envisioned minimal modern technology.  The word “quilter” brought to this “non quilter’s” mind a rather large table, chairs, needles, threads, and an enormous amount of fabric.  In other words Drea depicted a small dark room that could be showcased on the televised show Hoarders.  Okay maybe not that small and cluttered.  Drea was in awe of the size my long arm machine and the space it required.  My “rulers” were not only a mathematical puzzle to her but her eyes widen when I demonstrated how one would be used to create a curve on a piece of fabric.  img_9266Maybe I am being a little dramatic, but in all seriousness she was taken back by what my business and craft incorporated. Rulers, templates, techniques, etc. the list that shredded her “idea” of a typical quilter was lengthy and her notion had been shot to pieces.

 

 

 

In Drea’s words:

“Yes Lisa, you are a “quilter”, but you are so much more than that word conveys.  You, in my eyes, are an artist.  Some artists utilize brushes, paint and canvas.  Your brush is that of an incredible long arm, those delicate threads become your paint, and the fabric you choose, from your tiny stash, transforms into your canvas.  As with any artist, each “quilter” is unique.  No two quilters can replicate the exact design.  Even implementing new techniques and tools the end result will vary; each individual will design a masterpiece that has been drawn upon from their own style and vision.  I can accept the word “quilter” but just realize that, in my eyes, all those that take part in this quilting arena are talented in a way I had not fathomed.  I may be a “non quilter” because there will never be a long arm, or spools of thread in home, but I am honored to be a small part of what takes place in your studio.

img_0602

 

After we concluded I put my pen and paper down feeling energized.  I strive daily to touch and educate those wanting to learn this business and craft.  Upon taking in what my red-headed assistant has learned, as one who doesn’t have the desire to quilt (nor should she ever try), yet can appreciate and see the gift those quilters out there possess was overwhelming.  I surmised that I would keep Drea on board and hope that as she travels outside my studio she will enlighten all those other non quilters she encounters.

 

4 thoughts on “A 1:1 with the Non Quilter

  1. I am continually impressed at the creativity and informative tutorials posted on so many quilting blogs. I do love those rulers that allow us to create a curve on a piece of fabric. We are the lucky recipients of so many willing to share their artistic talents with us. Thank you so much!

  2. My daughter is just like Drew. She will never see but has learned to appreciate my creations. She is my IT person and helps me update my computerized longarm as well as my computers. We all could use a Drew.

Leave a Reply

