Vending…A Newbie’s Take

019d9a7857d862eb920819c473e2bb32

It’s mid October when children, and some parents, are counting down the days until Halloween.  Yes, the one night of the year that delivers it’s evening of trick or treaters, and candy that will keep me on a sugar high for the next 2 months.  Yet, my reality has me counting down the days until I head to Houston.  This trip will have Judy and I gone for nine days; the longest I have been away from my family to attend a show.  Currently I am being attacked by LISTS.  Post-It notes can be found floating like mini ghosts from every part of my computer monitor whispering “Lisa we are here, and you have many things to do”.  Boxes are stacked, suitcases are opened and my mind is swirling.  Right now I feel like Dorothy as I look around the studio thinking “Soon I won’t be in Pottstown anymore”.

Step out of your comfort zone, challenge yourself, it’s okay to feel uncomfortable; these are all things I can be heard impressing upon my students.  Now it’s time for me to practice what I preach.  Houston will give me my first experience at vending during a show.  My comfort zone has been in the classroom, that being said “Vending” is a whole new ballgame for this girl.  Am I stressed? No way.  Actually “freaking out” fits my demeanor.  There are soo many facets to this trip!

Here’s my typical routine: Pack vehicle, drive to destination, unload and set up.  Easy Peasy! If I missed something while loading the car, oh well no biggie, I can live without it for a few days.  Not this venture!  Most of the “Lisa Supervising” is being dispatched elsewhere. All my products are being shipped straight from the manufacturer; which means, to this Control Nazi, that I am basically leaving everything in the hands of the Expo Center.  Trust me, I will arrive holding my breath, fingers crossed and possessing a rabbit’s foot in my pocket.

530ffaf803ad9035d5e791337934dca5

Producing a display.  Remember I am a vending newbie so improving upon its appearance will be shown next go around.  Yes, I am sure I could have spent mega bucks through the Expo Center but my money tree needs some watering.  With wheels already turning for some bells and whistles I will include next time I’m vending; I am still satisfied with what we are sharing in Houston.  Last week I delivered my booth apparatus and products to Rob and Judy of Olde City Quilts in Burlington NJ.  They will also be in attendance and have graciously offered to transport my belongings since they are driving to Houston.  Thanks Rob and Judy!  I owe you a beer, wine, whatever your beverage of choice may be!

Right now this vending adventure definitely has me filled me with a few emotions that coincide with the Halloween season.  Just as one would feel entering a haunted house, those feelings of apprehension  and uncertainty have embraced me as I continually wonder what the vending world has in store for me. Hopefully all the many moving parts of this new aspect of quilting will fall into place, and I will look back on this extravaganza and realize I was over thinking everything.

***Don’t miss out on the class I am teaching while in Houston.. Divide, Design and Get it done!! There is still time to sign up! The class is being held on Monday Oct 31st., and is based on my book and DVD.  Of course this had me packing yet another set of boxes full of class supplies, rulers, etc. but it has me stepping back into my comfort zone for a little while on this trip!

houstonpromo2016

6 thoughts on “Vending…A Newbie’s Take

  1. Not to worry, Lisa! Those of us who are fortunate to be able to come to Houston will be thrilled to be able to see your rulers and be able to ask you questions in person. Who’s better qualified to demo your rulers than you?

  2. I wish I could attend! But I don’t fly home to Tx until Dec. You will do great! Everything will fall right into place…just wait and see! Good luck, and have fun!

  3. Lisa, this will be my first visit to Houston, and while I’m not vending, I’m so looking forward to checking out your rulers–just discovered you a couple of months ago. Just look at this adventure as a learning experience for next year.
    Good luck and see you at Festival.
    Bernice

Leave a Reply

