Not a Dreary Day at Danner BERNINA

This past Saturday I had the pleasure of teaching at Danner BERNINA.  Although mother nature decided to issue rain showers and bleak skies my time teaching was anything but dreary.  On the contrary, my day was absolutely fantastic!  The classroom was spacious and the energy at Danner BERNINA had me eager to begin the day.  Mother Nature had nothing on Danner BERNINA.

Seeing students that I have previously taught always brings a smile to my face.   I try to remember names and faces, but my age isn’t decreasing in years and my beautiful mind loves reminding me of that little fact.  It’s either I remember your name and not your face or vice versa, I remember your face and not your name.  Don’t get me wrong, I can remember both on a really good day…lol!   For instance, Rose, I will not forget because not only is she a quilter but she is also a ceramic artist.  I often imagine how therapeutic it must be letting your hands and clay work together as they produce an object of beauty.  But currently my hands are more than filled with quilting, so the idea of working with clay needs to be set aside…sigh.
img_1612

These three lovely ladies, pictured above, were a treat to teach.  Adele (situated all the way on the left) attended this class on her  birthday! I felt honored that she chose her special day to be here participating in BOTH the templates class and feathers class. I hope someone spoiled her with a cake, presents, and singing later that evening it was well deserved!  Thanks again Adele for spending a good portion of  your birthday at Danner’s. The mother-daughter duo are seated to right. It warmed my heart seeing them again and I love that they not only love quilting, but moreover obviously love spending time together.  Last year when I was in Houston Debra took my Divide and Design Class.  I must not have totally horrified her as she came back for more “Lisa” and attended one of my  feathers classes.  By the way Debra’s quilt was juried into Houston this year! You Go Girl!!!  During the sessions on Saturday I was excited to learn that Donna and Debra will be visiting Houston again this year.  I’m thrilled to hear this but I do need to encourage them to put their Fitbits on and pick up the pace a tad on preview night.  Last year they perused aisles 1 through 900, at that pace they won’t get to mine 1323.   Come on girls don’t let me down this year!

When it comes to quilting Debra is the chief, she does the quilting for this mother-daughter team; so partaking in this feathers  class may have put Donna a little out of her comfort zone. With concentration and perseverance she plugged away, and plugged away, and plugged away, and eventually proudly announced “I did it, I can stop now, I created a perfect feather!”  I was brimming with joy and was extremely anxious to see her design. So I scurried around to her table…AND

img_1613

there before me was just that, her one perfect feather. It may have only been one feather but it was perfect and she  had succeeded.

Saturday held so much laughter that my stomach felt as though I had done a bizillion sit ups. It is so refreshing as a teachers when we encounter those students that bring humor and lightness to our time together. Sandy was that individual on this past Saturday. Well, to be honest I had quite a few Sandy’s on Saturday.  My instruction time at Danner BERNINA quickly came to an end.  Soon we would be giggling as we said our goodbyes knowing that this was a class to remember.

These students had me so involved with questions, comments, and yes laughing that I didn’t have time to take as many photographs as I had hoped.

On my 2 hours drive home I kept smiling and giggling to myself knowing that drizzle and the gray clouds were no where to be found at Danner’s.  I hope to hold classes there again soon, I look forward to all the laughter that awaits me.

Have your local shop contact me if you are interested in having me come teach!!

Lisa

2 thoughts on “Not a Dreary Day at Danner BERNINA

  1. Lisa

    Thanks for the mention. Mom was really proud of her perfect feather. Great to share it with everyone. We had a super time in class. See you in Houston!

Leave a Reply

