AQS Chattanooga

My journey to AQS Chattanooga has come to an end; now that I am home I can reflect and share with everyone what an incredible time Judy and I had!  We definitely embraced quality and quantity car time together as we drove 10 1/2 hours from Philadelphia to Chattanooga…. to many I am sure this sounds dreadful, but Judy and I always make each trip an adventure to remember.  And although the world outside was trying poop on our parade the two of inside the vehicle laughed it away!

img_1480

 

Had we known prior that Dolly Parton would be greeting us as we entered good ole Tennessee we would have honored her with a little  music.  I’m thinking “9 to 5” would have been just perfect!

img_1494 img_1495

After a great morning of judging the amazing talent in Tennessee, we decided to venture to the Tennessee Aquarium.  So many incredible things to see; I didn’t realize that seahorses could be so small, or perhaps I just haven’t seen enough of them.  And oh my! The creatures that look as though they are from prehistoric times, Jurassic Park comes to mind or Harry Potter?  Regardless our time spent at the museum was interesting to say the least.

img_1503 img_1505

Classes began on Wednesday, each session was  filled with students that arrived eager and ready to learn.  I too was excited, I never tire of having the opportunity to share my knowledge and methods .  As in any class each group of students is different, and yes that means the serious learner , the comical learner, and even those who like to cause trouble…Marsha…Debby, need I say more?  Heading to the South is one of my favorite areas to teach.  I am never disappointed by the warmth and kindness I experience from those around me, it’s like coming home.

 

Below are some pictures taken from the classes I taught….. there was a total of six sessions…. 2 Templates classes, 2 Feathers classes, my session demonstrating the Divide and Design technique and a Fills class.

 

I actually had some student that had never laid fingers on a machine!  This thrilled me, as I was ecstatic to bring the world of quilting into their lives.  With each class I witnessed everyone progress. Moreover, it was so rewarding to observe their confidence and self satisfaction with their results .  My trip to Chattanooga was awesome, and I can only thank everyone who participated in my classes for such a great week.

And I can’t forget to mention that while in Tennessee I had a chance to visit Spool and Maddie Kertay!  The character of her store will draw you in, it has such a warm and inviting feel, and once you see her selection of fabric you will wish you had visited sooner!  But spending time with Maddie was the highlight; she is one badass!

img_1523

Thank you AQS for a fabulous week!  I am so fortunate to do this for a living; not a day goes by that I don’t  wonder how I got so lucky to be sharing my passion and love of quilting.

What will your passion and love of quilting create???

Lisa

PS.  Make sure you check out my new book!  Divide and Design!  I just got some of the quilts back ….. here are my two favorites.

4 thoughts on “AQS Chattanooga

  1. I was registered for your class but had to cancel my trip. So disappointed but plan on trying to attend in another workshop. I love your design tips and plan on purchasing your book!

  2. Lisa~
    It was wonderful to read and see pictures of your trip! It must be a wonderful experience to indoctrinate new quilters! Wishing I was able to attend… And can’t wait to order your book and rulers!

    Beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

