Friendship Star – Take 1

Today is the last day for the 15% off sale over at lisahcalle.com!  Don’t miss out!

I have skipped over the Hunter’s Star since the Lemoyne star was so much like it.  I am going to slow down on these posts as I want to actually have some time to quilt my next competition piece.  So I will be posting progress pictures of that.  I am hoping you all will give me some motivation to finish it… or at least get a move on it. LOL   So I will post blocks pictures on Monday and Friday and see how that goes.  I’d love it if you all participated.  Any takers?  If you send me Friendship star pics I can post them on Friday.   I know short notice so, no pressure.

Here we ago…

Step 1 :  Divide up your block.  This is the first thing I would stitch… along with all of my stitch in the ditch work.  As you probably have noticed I use a lot of ProEchoes  in all different sizes because its nice to have a lot of different curves to chose from.  Remember they are on sale right now…. just saying…

friendshipstar1-1

Step 2: Add some design work… no surprise what I chose.

friendshipstar1-2

Step 3:   decided to add a chain of pebbles… this is where the ProPebble 1/4 comes in handy.

friednshipstar1-3

Step 4:  I’ve added some extra curves in to frame the pebbles and straight-line stitching with the ProLine 16.  Then I added some sand stipple right next to the feathers which help them pop.  I also added some partial circles (using the Propebble 3/4 in the corner… once they are next to the other blocks they will form a circle.

friendshipstar1-4

Step 5:  finished up with some more straight line fill on the outside of the feather echo and then some more sand stipple in the corners.  Some crosshatching in the center ( 1/2″) and some circles in the triangles.

friendshipstar1-6

Here’s a peak of what a couple of blocks would look like together.

friendshipstar1-8

Hope you like it.

What will you create?

Lisa

9 thoughts on “Friendship Star – Take 1

  1. Love how you have concentrated on the background of the star. I have recently quilted a friendship star table runner. How do we send you pictures? I haven’t got a blog to refer you to

  2. I love following your blog with terrific ideas for quilting. I was slightly disappointed that you didn’t follow through on the hunter star block as I just finished one and had a very difficult time with deciding what to do.

  3. Thanks for doing the Friendship Star and I love the circle. My little table topper is a ring of these stars. This design will certainly play up the circle idea… like you I love feathers!

    I can’t wait to see the competition piece as it progresses

    Jo

  4. I love this one since it’s used so much. Your quilting just keeps going and going which is amazing. Then we can stop whenever we want to!!

Leave a Reply

