Storm at Sea – Take 1

Before we get to the Storm at Sea block,  We are celebrating our new packaging and new website… make sure you visit our website for 15% off storewide- now through August 1 2016.  The sale will show up in the cart.

This block was fun to do and I know want to make one….

Step 1:  Divide up the block… this is one of the reasons I like to have so many ProEcho’s and ProCircles to choose from!

stormatsea1-1

Step 2:  Since it is storm at sea… I thought I would use some ferns vs feathers.  If I were doing it again… I’d choose feathers.  I also used the ProPebbles to add some little circles.

stormatsea1-2

Step 3: Added some straight line echoing to the dark pieces as well as some crosshatching and straight line fill.

stormatsea1-3

Step 4:  Some more crosshatching….

stormatsea1-4

Step 5:   I used the sand stipple  and an 1/8″ straight line fill.. Again, I think I’d use feathers if I were going to stitch this out.

stormatsea1-5

As for stitching this out, I would stitch out step 1 first… it would look really cool to use an Aurifil 12 wt thread!  Those lines would really stick out.  🙂  I would then stitch out the ferns, move to the crosshatch and straight lines and finish with the sand stipple.  The reason I would stitch it all out at the same time as I want to maintain even quilting throughout  so as to not distort the blocks/quilt.

 

What will you create??

Lisa

7 thoughts on “Storm at Sea – Take 1

  1. Lisa, love the blocks. Do you SID the whole quilt before you start the heavy quilting on each block? Also do you baste the sides and top before starting?

    • I will go through the quilt and stitch my dividing lines and all the SID so the quilt is completely stabilized. Then I go back to do the designs and fill work. Yes, I baste up and down the sides of the quilt.

Leave a Reply

