Ohio Star #1

Hi all,

I ave been enjoying the block designs and hope you all do too.  Please send in your request.  My goal is to post 3 different designs of each block.  If you have a request, please let me know and I will add it to the list.

Forgive me as I don’t remember who requested the Ohio star.  I tend to have a heavy hand in my quilting so the first design is a full on custom but you can stop in any of the stages.

ohiostar1-1

Step 1:  Divide up the areas.  I like the wavy lines in the corner blocks as it adds a lot of movement to the block.  So grab your rulers and play.  I used the ProSpine Small for those lines. I would also SID around the block and all the pieces as well.

Ohiostar1-2

Step 2:  Choose your main design element.  Was it any wonder I would choose feathers??  But you could choose anything you like.  I decided on a one sided feather so I could do something different on the other side.  If this were a customer quilt and time was important, I would have also put feathers on the opposite side.

Ohiostar1-3

Step 3:  Those small triangles needed something and I love straight lines but you could also fill in with sand stipple or pebbles.

Ohiostar1-4

Step 4:  I decided to carry on with the straight lines.  I used the Proline 8 which gives the 1/8″ spacing.

Ohiostar1-5

Step 5:  There was still some fabric that needed to be quilted.  I like to put the sand stipple next to my feathers as it really makes them pop.  I would also go in and do some echo quilting in the star so it didn’t feel left out.

Let me know what you think.  Sometimes I feel like I’m talking to myself out here.  Love to see what you all are doing and some more suggestions for blocks.

Wednesday I will try to lighten up the quilting a little…. it might be hard but I’ll give it a go.  LOL

What will you create?

Lisa

43 thoughts on “Ohio Star #1

  1. There’s always a place for feathers!!!!! Sometimes the simplest, most traditional piecing presents the most challenge when it comes to the quilting. Really like this one!!!!!

  2. Love your ideas for the different blocks. I can’t feather to save myself, have tried everyone’s books and DVD’s, practiced for hours and nope just can’t do it. So I love to watch how you add all of the different designs in and around the feathers. Please keep on showing use your designs and how to’s.

  3. Thanks for the inspiration on the Ohio Star Lisa. I love that you are doing this as sometimes it is really hard to decide what to quilt.

    Sent from Windows Mail

  4. Thank you for showing how, when and where to use your rulers….I have a few of your rulers and have been intimated to use….seeing the designs has my lightbulb shying in my head!

  5. Beautiful, Lisa! Thanks for doing this. It really helps to see the steps and how the block builds from simple to simply beautiful!

    Carol Todd Sent from my iPad

    >

  6. Lisa, your quilting is beautiful on the Ohio star. Thank you for sharing and inspiring us. Someday could you do a Lemoyne Star. I love your rulers.

  7. Thanks for sharing this design. I have an Ohio Star wall hanging that I have had for a couple of years just waiting to find a design for it. I’m going to use this design with a few changes to make it my own. I enjoy seeing your quilts. You inspire me.

  8. Love what you did with the background quilting in this star, but what would you do with the center and star points?

  9. What is the best way to show you our work? I have a practice piece I did using your techniques and rulers. I am working on another one now. I loved using the different sizes of the QuiltersGroove rulers to see the different effects each one gives. You make the whole process so much fun.

  10. Blogging can be like that at times, you feel like you are ‘talking’ to yourself! I love what you came up with and lets face it, the truth must be told…….feathers rock!!

  11. I love what you’ve done to the Ohio Star… Gorgeous! I’ve got two questions, what do you mean by sand stippling… tiny pebbles? You are the only person I’ve heard you the term.

    Can I suggest Friendship Star for a quilting make over 🙂

  12. Hi from Pittsburgh, Lisa! You are definitely not talking just to yourself! I really enjoy seeing how you have done the different blocks and I’m sure I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

