Lost in Transit

 

Every quilters worst nightmare….. Let me preface this post by saying that I know that mistakes happen and items get lost… my frustration lies with the lack of communication and empathy during the 8 day investigation….

I packed up 3 boxes to send to Canada for a teaching gig.  Two of the boxes contained kits and small samples for the class, the third box contained my show quilts for a trunk show and rulers for the template class I was teaching.  I did not insure the box through UPS because I have private insurance on my quilts specifically for transit…  The first two boxes were received but the third never made it.  I realized this the day before I was to leave for Canada… the tracking stated that the box made it to Winnipeg but was being returned to the sender.  I called in hopes that I could intercept the box and still have it delivered to Sparrow Studioz.  I was told that the box had never left Harrisburg.  I informed the representative that I was looking at a UPS webpage that said they made it to Winnipeg.  I was told…”I have the most up to date software and I know how to use it better than you do, the box never left Harrisburg.”  My only real option at this point was to open an investigation which  I did.  I was told I might not hear anything for up to 8 days.

Sparrow Studioz and I called each day only to  be told the same thing…  an investigator will be in touch when and if they find the box.  It was during this time I found out that they ONLY investigate for 8 days.. if it is not located they send you a claim form.

Once I got home from the trip, I made a plea on social media for help and you all came through for me with a barrage of posts on UPS’s Facebook page!  I can’t thank you enough!   We quilters truly stick together.. ( my non quilter friends were amazed) My post was shared  499 times.  My friend Barb said we broke FB.  You all truly are the best.

Fast Forward to the 8th day…. no phone call…. that night I was desperate and thought I was never going to see my quilts again… I found the email address of the CEO of UPS and sent a well worded email asking him for help.  I didn’t think anything would come of it but it was worth a try.   The 9th day I received an email saying that the box wasn’t found and a claim form was going to be emailed to me.  GRRRR…. no phone call.  so sorry we lost your irreplaceable quilts but you are out of luck…. here is your stinkin claim form.  Cowardly…

I then got an email from Clarissa at Customer Relations in Atlanta saying that she is responding for the CEO and that  she will be my point of contact now.   I forwarded her pictures of the 5 quilts in the box.  At this point I had really lost hope they would be found because if the investigators couldn’t find it in 8 days how would she be able to.  I thought this was just to appease me and all of my wonderful friends on FB who also happened to email the CEO.  LOL

Later that day I received a call from UPS Canada…. they found the box in Lost and Found.  Sighhhhhh… we will be air shipping them to you and they should be there on Monday.

I couldn’t have gotten through this without all of you…. for my non quilter friends …. Diana Annis really put it into prospective…

A note for those who have not heard, Lisa Hagstoz Calle’s quilts that were lost by UPS were FOUND and are enroute back to her! For a non quilter this is not important. Think of it this way, your business life is all on your laptop. You’ve spent hours on the content. Important portions are not backed up externally. You are traveling for your job and within minutes your laptop and it’s contents are gone! How would you feel? How would it impact your business? This is an important recovery and I am thrilled for Lisa.

I don’t think these quilts will be traveling with my any longer unless I am driving somewhere. I urge you all to get your quilts appraised and insured, even though I quickly realized while crying on the phone to my insurance agent that the money does not help the emotional loss of something so important.

My friend Teri Donovan has a great plan when she sends her quilts places… make sure that the address is written on the box in such a way that a machine can’t rip it off.  Also, put it on the inside of the box and label your quilts… also make sure they are packed really well….

They are home safe and sound AND in good shape.

Quilt on, my Friends!

Lisa

 

Red Velvet

Red Velvet

IMG_4048

Playing Hookie

Playing Hookie

25 thoughts on “Lost in Transit

  1. So happy for you Lisa. My friend did the sashing on a quilt top for me that was for my son. It had been several years in the making. She mailed it (Priority Mail) and we haven’t seen it since.Got the same old runaround from the USPS. You’re fortunate that your quilts were returned. They just don’t understand that they are irreplaceable
    .

  2. Lisa, I am so sorry you had to go through all that worry. Your quilts are priceless. Lesson learned.
    Cynthia

  3. I am so glad to hear that your quilts have been found and returned! I saw a notice about your missing quilts on The Quilt Show website and just…there are no words….You must be so relieved. Truly glad that this had a happy ending.

  4. You mentioned getting your quilts appraised. This is such an important step. If you do not, it doesn’t matter how good your insurance is. Likely they will only reimburse for material, or for the value of a similarly-sized “blanket.” Glad you got them back. I would be traumatized.

  5. Whew! That is a wonderful outcome through a trying situation. I cannot imagine what you were feeling, Lisa. Breathe!

  6. I can’t figure out whether replying to the blog post will go to you or not:(  I am so, so glad and happy for you that the package was found!!!  I can only imagine how scary that was for you.  I have the same worries about my needlepoint as I do about my quilts and hate even checking them in checked luggage on airplanes – and I am only an amateur!!!  I have been told that Fed Ex is more reliable but …So happy for you!!  Come to SC soon:)Anne Anne M. HenryCallawassie Island, SC Enjoy Callawassie – visit our web site:  www.callawassieisland.com From: Lisa H Calle’s Blog To: ahenry@thehill.org Sent: Monday, July 20, 2015 1:45 PM Subject: [New post] Lost in Transit #yiv3280976220 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3280976220 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3280976220 a.yiv3280976220primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3280976220 a.yiv3280976220primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3280976220 a.yiv3280976220primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3280976220 a.yiv3280976220primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3280976220 WordPress.com | lisahcalle posted: ” Every quilters worst nightmare….. Let me preface this post by saying that I know that mistakes happen and items get lost… my frustration lies with the lack of communication and empathy during the 8 day investigation….I packed up 3 boxe” | |

  7. I’m still trying to find out if this was the United States Postal Service or the delivery company UPS.
    Thanks,
    Nancy

  8. What a nightmare. I do often marvel that the USPS, UPS, FedEx all work as smoothly and efficiently as they do but that doesn’t mean the unspeakable never happens. I’m so sorry you went through all of this and equally glad to hear that they stepped up to the plate and you will have your very precious quilts returned.

  9. Your quilts are wonderful. So glad this is a happy ending and you have your quilts back. What a worry it must have been. It makes one wonder how these things happen when you pay have packed well and have paid for the service of safe transport and delivery to a destination.

  10. Do you mind my asking who you have your insurance with for your quilts? (you mentioned they are insured in transit.) I have a number of my show quilts (I never win anything but I try!) here at home, appraised for a significant total amount, that my homeowner’s insurance refuses to cover. I’m looking for coverage and having a hard time.

Leave a Reply

