Think Spring, Think Spring….

It’s right around the corner…. isn’t it?  I am so ready for some warmer weather.  This snow and cold is for the birds…

I am just about done piecing and appliquéing my spring flowers….

IMG_2465

Just need to machine applique them down.  Then add the geese…. speaking of geese…

IMG_2471

I ma wondering how many of you are like me and make theirs a little bigger than trim them down.  I really dislike the added step of trimming them but I LOVE the how perfect they are…. What about you?  Do you make them the right size or a little large, then trim them down?

Quilt on, My Friends!

Lisa

14 thoughts on “Think Spring, Think Spring….

  1. I think I have tried almost every method of making them, but trimming them down (even though it’s tedious) has become the way I do them now. It’s so much easier to put together a project that starts with perfect components.

    • Ditto here. I just can’t consistently count on accurate results unless I make them a little oversized and cut them down. It’s boring, but it’s worth it in the long run.

  2. Have you ever tried Deb Tucker’s Wing Trimmer ruler? Yes, it’s one more gadget for our studio’s, but it works! I am using it to make several flocks of 1×2″ geese as sashing in a applique quilt I designed. I drew it, printed out the cutting directions and said ” I don’t want to do THAT”… and then decided I really did liked the design and tried the templates. There is a bit of trimming down, but no real waste and they are perfect.

    Jo

Leave a Reply

