February Feather Friday is Here!!! Tutorial #1

It’s finally Friday…. This is the first of 4 feather tutorials for the month.  ( I might  have a bonus tutorial along the way.)

We are starting with the traditional longarm feather.  The video takes you through drawing and how important it is to doodle…  quilting out the feather on my BERNINA 750  and finally, quilting the feather on my A1.  Please be kind as most of you know I am trying to learn to quilt on my domestic. I’ll get there …. slowly.

Practice, Practice, Practice….

 

11 thoughts on “February Feather Friday is Here!!! Tutorial #1

  1. Hi Lisa, Thanks for this journey. I’m on the exact same one. I am also a longarmer (not anywhere near as accomplished as you, btw). I am learning to free motion on my domestic machine. It is definitely a loooong journey, but worth it. I am taking a class from Cindy Needham on Craftsy. She is a marvelous FM domestic machine Quilter and her technique is impeccable. I’ll see you next Friday. It’s good to have company on this journey. The skills are somewhat transferable, but we have to have patience, and be kind to ourselves, right?. It WILL click in due time. 🙂
    God Bless, Hope

  2. Lisa, Thanks so much for this series!!! I hope to reblog this so that my readers will have opportunity to follow along, also!!!!! Feathers are totally a “personal” thing and no 2 quilter’s feathers/techniques are the same…….we are each created with different “wiring”!!!!! I LOVE FEATHERS!!!!! I, also, have Batt Scooters and alternate between gloves, a ‘Halo’ and the scooters. Thanks again!!!!!!!

  3. Reblogged this on Treadlemusic and commented:
    Through the month of February, Lisa Calle is doing “February Feather Friday” and will demo her approach to stitching feathers on her DSM (domestic sewing machine). NOTE: There are as many different techniques/results for stitching these motifs as there are stitchers so, please, realize that your mind wiring may not “click” with this technique but the ‘rules’/hints that Lisa shares apply to all techniques. The shapes of the individual plumes may vary but the angle they join/return to the spine (usually 60 degrees) is crucial to an eye-pleasing motif. I would appreciate any feed-back on this series, as would Lisa (please, visit her excellent blog, too!!!). In order not to “reinvent the wheel”, I will be doing ‘feather’ tutorial posts from other quilters whose techniques may be different and may just be THE ONE that “clicks” with your (brain’s) wiring!!!!!!! Enjoy the process and don’t forget to…..practice, practice, practice!!!! Til next time, I’m off to the machines………………………………………

  4. Thank you Lisa! I feel so inspired! I struggle with feathers, so I am going to load a top on my machine and after practicing with your printout, I’m going to go for it!

  5. Thanks Lisa I have learn a lot! The first thing was they don’t have to be all the same size, I have been try to do that! The second you don’t have to bring the feather to touch the spine! The third is that the spine doesn’t have to be down first! Is it alright to send you a picture? Great video can’t wait until next Friday!

Leave a Reply

