Preparing for February’s Feather Fridays!!

I have been preparing for our Feather Fridays and realized as I was preparing the fabric for stitching stuff out that maybe you might want to stitch along with me!   So, I have uploaded my feather practice sheet to my website, click here for it. Look for the 3 Page Feather Practice printout.   Mine looks a little different as I print it off on a large printer.  I formatted this one so you can print if off on regular 8.5″ x 11″

Feather Print out

I will be using tracing paper laid over top to draw my feathers.

Next you need to prepare the fabric.  If you are going to quilt on a domestic machine, make 6 sandwiches roughly 15″ x 15″ and mark your spines onto the fabric with a blue washout marker.  Here are what mine look like….

IMG_2363

Now, there is to be no laughing when you see my videos of me quilting these on my BERNINA 750QE.

On the longarm, I took a piece of fabric 90″ x 16″ and drew these spines each six times… ( I had 90″ wide fabric so I used that but you can certainly use 45″ wide.)

IMG_2364

 

So now that you are prepared…. get ready for Friday and remember its all about practicing… you can’t get better if you don’t practice. Some of the feathers we are going to go over are on my Feathers DVD which is geared towards longarm quilters.

I hope to see some of you in my Feathers class at Birds of a Feather in Va this weekend.  🙂

Quilt on, My Friends!

Lisa

7 thoughts on “Preparing for February’s Feather Fridays!!

  1. Lisa, I can’t find the 3 page feather printout.  What am Idoing wrong? Thanks.Hope From: Lisa H Calle’s Blog To: hopel121@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, February 4, 2015 8:01 AM Subject: [New post] Preparing for February’s Feather Fridays!! #yiv0620227680 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv0620227680 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv0620227680 a.yiv0620227680primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0620227680 a.yiv0620227680primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv0620227680 a.yiv0620227680primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0620227680 a.yiv0620227680primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv0620227680 WordPress.com | lisahcalle posted: “I have been preparing for our Feather Fridays and realized as I was preparing the fabric for stitching stuff out that maybe you might want to stitch along with me!   So, I have uploaded my feather practice sheet to my website, click here for it. Look for ” | |

  2. I would like to thank you, I have been working on feathers for about a week. Some are ok, but others we won’t talk about. I have printed out the pages and I have the material ready on the frame. See you Friday!

  3. Hi Lisa,

    Thank you for your feathers tutorial. Unfortunately, I’m not able to print the file :(. Please can you help me with the right link?

    Thank you in advance.
    Henny (The Netherlands)

Leave a Reply

