Just when you think you are done…..

with the top that is.

I wish I could design a whole quilt top and then stick with the plan.  I tend to start with an idea whether it  be for a block or center medallion, could be appliqué or pieced.  I gather what I think will be enough of the fabric (which it never is and I scramble at the last minute to try and find more).  Once that piece is made it hangs on my design wall for eternity … ok, maybe not eternity, it just feels like it…. till it speaks to me.

So, I have been working on this particular quilt for quite some time… I am sure you are as sick of seeing it as I am…. well,  I thought I had finished it…New competition piece

BTW, I do need a name!  If you have any suggestions, I am all ears… right now, its Beloved but I don’t think that is going to be what I call it.

So, I thought this was it and was going to move on to the quilting… I shouldn’t have let it hang on my design wall for so long… because it spoke to me again….

I am adding some appliqué.  What do you think? ( don’t look in the messy closet)

Appliqué added.

Appliqué added.

 

Guess i better get to finishing this as  I had wanted to enter it into MQX.  At this rate, I don’t think it will be done.  😦

Quilt on!

Lisa

18 thoughts on “Just when you think you are done…..

  1. I would name it “Pink Spring”. I have no idea why, but that’s what it conveys to me. It’s got that buds-starting-to-bloom look to me…? Like when all the little green tips of plants start coming out.

  2. I think it’s gorgeous!! Anne M. HenryCallawassie Island, SC Enjoy Callawassie – visit our web site:  www.callawassieisland.com From: Lisa H Calle’s Blog To: ahenry@thehill.org Sent: Friday, January 16, 2015 5:02 AM Subject: [New post] Just when you think you are done….. #yiv9916824901 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9916824901 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9916824901 a.yiv9916824901primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9916824901 a.yiv9916824901primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9916824901 a.yiv9916824901primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9916824901 a.yiv9916824901primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9916824901 WordPress.com | lisahcalle posted: “with the top that is.I wish I could design a whole quilt top and then stick with the plan.  I tend to start with an idea whether it  be for a block or center medallion, could be appliqué or pieced.  I gather what I think will be enough of the fabric (” | |

  3. Perfect! I had to compare the pictures twice, but then the difference jumped out at me. The additional green does make it complete. Time to take it off the wall and onto the frame!

  4. The extra applique really adds a lot to the piece. The new shapes it forms are awesome. Who cares if you make the show? You are an artist…. how long did it take to paint the Sistine Chapel ceiling?

  5. Yes, I really do like the added applique. Looking forward to seeing the “icing on the cake” – your quilting. Another beauty about to be finished!

    • Thanks everyone! I am planning on chronicling the process of designing and quilting on my blog so make sure to follow me for updates.
      As for a name for this quilt, you all gave me some great ones. I will post a list of my favorites and then as I’m quilting, hopefully the quilt will talk to me. 🙂

  6. This wonderful piece reminds me of the compass rose. I see the four side roses pointing to the center large one. Almost as if the four directions lead to the final ultimate destination, in a good way. Sort of like the many roads leading to your personal “happy place”. Very philosophical for me but given that I have never felt so compelled to respond to a post like this it seems appropriate. I think a good name might have something to do with a journey.

    Date: Fri, 16 Jan 2015 13:02:18 +0000 To: pmart00@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

