Missed Monday…. Rainy Tuesday

I am not a cold weather person but I think I would prefer snow and cold to this dismal rain.  We here at the Calle house are officially decorated for the holidays!

IMG_2188

this little pig stands guard at our front door.  Surely he is scary enough to terrify any would be intruder.. ok, maybe not.

When I was in Houston for Festival, I got a lot of question about my rulers and whether they would work on a sit down machine.  Yes, yes and yes!!!!  You can use the rulers on a domestic machine with care just as you need to take care when using them on a longarm.  Like anything else, there will be a learning curve but ask any longarm quilter and they will tell you there was a learning curve when they first started using them on a longarm.  Patsy Thompson of Patsy Thompson Designs did a great video on ruler work…. in it she mentions that you need a ruler foot.  I do not use a ruler foot on my domestic, you just need to be careful.  I like to use the Machingers and I place my hand over the template and quilt sandwich so I move both at the same time.  I find it useful to have a little sandpaper on the bottom of the template to prevent slipping.

click here to see Patsy’s video.

In January, my friend Teri and I will be heading to Olde City Quilts to do a couple of videos on using rulers on a domestic machine so stay tuned for those in January.

Don’t forget the 12 days of Christmas sale is still on at Stone House Quilting till Friday!

Happy Quilting!

Lisa

2 thoughts on “Missed Monday…. Rainy Tuesday

Leave a Reply

