Wholecloth update!!!

I am so excited to see the whole cloths that everyone is doing!  Here are a couple…..

check out Laura Davies blog about her quilt…. http://tanderwenquilts.blogspot.com/2014/06/wholecloth-challenge-take-1.html   Great job Laura, it is incredible!!

Here is AnneLize’s!  It is so beautiful!

Annelizelittlefair

 

I have decided to possibly go a different direction with mine….

1st Draft!

IMG_1677

2nd Draft

Who knows how many drafts this will take??? But it sure is fun!

When I design, really anything, I typically use my longarm templates.  Do you?  If not, what do you use?  The reason I use my longarm templates, more specifically my Quilter’s Groove™ ProEcho™ rulers, is it makes it easy when I quilt it because I know what rulers I need.  When I draw freehand it makes the quilting process a little more difficult and I am all about ease.

Everyone has their own design process and it is fun to see how others go about it… here are Jacqueline’s doodles.

10566358_543873355719111_274640986_n 10564702_543873352385778_1262923938_n

 

So this past week, I took my oldest to Ithaca College.  He met with the lacrosse coach and we took a tour.  What a beautiful area!  While talking to the coach, he asked me what I did for a living…. this is always an interesting question to answer.  So I told him, I was a professional quilter.  He was surprised as most people are and we chatted for a few minutes about the difference between what I do and the Amish.  He then told me about a quilt shop in town.  So since we had some extra time… guess where we went.

IMG_1662

Brandon waited in the car and it was a good thing because I would somehow embarrassed him.  Of course I found some fabric but made some new friends as well.

IMG_1664

Turns out the woman in the middle, Bryn, is the acting Dean’s wife!  Small world!  The wonderful plaid fabric is now in my stash as well.  🙂

I also was excited to see  Gretchen’s  book in the store.  I quilted the cover quilt for her.  Yeah Gretchen!

IMG_1665

IMG_1666

 

Remember to send me YOUR pictures!  I love to see and share them with everyone.  I am off to write or I should say attempt to write a pattern now.  Wish me luck.

Happy Quilting

Lisa

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Wholecloth update!!!

  1. I still have every intention of joining in with others in the whole cloth challenge but “life” has slowed things down a bit. Fabric is purchased so “hope springs eternal”!!!!!!!

  2. Thanks for sharing about my quilt. Love AnneLize’s design too. I like your second draft. I’ll probably come up with something a little more floral. Tacking major tension issues at the moment!

  3. Thank you for the eye candy Lisa – very pretty! The design process just leads to so many new ideas – I’m curious to see where you end up! I’ve got my fabric, now to translate some ideas to paper/design stage and see what I come up with!

Leave a Reply

