WIP Progress update: Jan 19, 2014

As many of you know, I have been having some problems with my current competition piece.  Not the design but in executing the design.  I DO NOT want to have to develop a plan B so I am persevering as I love the design and refuse to believe that I do not have the skill to get this together. It might not win anything but by God, I will finish it the way I envision.

I got the 4 pieced border pieces together so they lay flat.  I made one piece for the inner green border but am not happy with the corners…. there are some inconsistencies with the width going into the corners.  This bothers me.  I will have to come back to address this issue as I decided to move on to the outer pieces.

Here is a picture of the green part  I am talking about.

IMG_1112

I really need a very large piece of Templar to make a good template.  The freezer paper didn’t work very well.  Back to the drawing  board.

I moved on to the outer portion to create a square and realized that since there is no middle right now I needed to pin everything down, thank goodness I keep everything so I had my drawings.

IMG_1119

I labeled the sides so as I made the outer pieces  I would know which went where.  They should all be the same….shhhh…. they aren’t.

IMG_1121

I marked exactly where the corner points come to and had to adjust my curve slightly.

IMG_1122 IMG_1123

Then I had to figure out the best way to appliqué the piece on.  Since I needed to a little flexible so all of my points remained points, I decided to needle turn which I am not great at but worked.

IMG_1124

Then came to corners…. I left fabric on the border pieces so that  I could miter them.  Right now the corner is only glued in place.  I am going to appliqué the other two sides and do all of the corners… gluing them down first to make sure that the block lies flat, then I will trim it down.

IMG_1125

As for the small green border,  I think I am going to attach the interior star and possibly needle turn that as well.  Here’s hoping that there is no need for a plan B.  What a learning experience this has been….

Happy Quilting.

Lisa