Sept. 23, 2013

It is hard to believe that Sept will be over soon.  Yesterday was the first official day of fall.  I am not a cold weather person so I sure hope it stays warm for a while and that we have a mild winter!  

Congratulations to my friend Sherry Reynolds!  Her quilt America Let it Shine just won its 12th Best of Show!  Yes, you heard correctly 12th!  It is absolutely spectacular in pictures and I am hoping to one day see it in person.  Here is a link to a picture…. 

This past weekend was the Pa. National Quilt Extravaganza!  I went on Thursday with my friend Karen!  I can’t believe it… I didn’t buy a thing.  I am kicking myself because one vendor had the most incredible selection of Radiance fabric.  UGHHH, oh well!  Next time I will buy it when I see it!  

My quilt, Crown Jewels, won Best Wall Quilt!  What a nice surprise that was.  

Crown JewelsI had a lot of fun with this!  I used my top secret method for creating this whole cloth!  NO measuring involved!!  If you are interested in learning this “top secret” method, I will be teaching it at Birds of a Feather in Virginia in Feb.  MQX East in April and HMQS in May!!  

Of course, I used my ProLine and ProCurve rulers in this beauty!  🙂 

For those of you who have taken my Divide and Design class, you know that I love to echo 1/4″ on all my quilts.  I love the definition you get so its no surprise that I developed a ruler that helps you achieve more accurate results.  Here are two videos showing these tools in action.  The ProEcho’s come in sets, Small, Med and large and can be found on my website, http://www.stonehousequilting.com 

I am currently working on my next competition piece.   It had been fun and challenging.  I am finished the hand appliquéd blocks.  Now I am playing around with the borders….. I see paper piecing in my future.  Also, maybe some stars.  just not sure yet.  What do you see?

IMG_0781

 

Off to start drafting!

 

2 thoughts on “Sept. 23, 2013

Leave a Reply

