Confessions of a Competitive Quilter

For those of you who don’t know me personally, I am a pretty competitive person.  Now, as I write that, I cringe a little.  I don’t really mean with other people but with myself.  In golf, it is normally to beat my best score, quilting, for each quilt to be better than the previous.  Now that is not to say that  I don’t like to win when competing against others because that would be a lie.

I recently received 2 of my quilts back from Quilt Odyssey.  Swan’s Song and Red Velvet. These two quilts are near and dear to my heart.  That is not to say that they are without issues because that would not be true.

Alas, they did not ribbon at the show.  Nedless to say  I was bummed.  When I received them back from the show, I looked at the comments the judges made.  Now, normally, I look and then just throw them away and not give it more thought because I know the quilt intimately.  I know where the issues are even if the judges didn’t find them.   However, the suggestion was made that Red Velvet might benefit from additional quilting on the plates.  I sighed…. in my heart I knew that they were right.  When it left for the first show, I contemplated adding and decided not to.   With what the judges suggested and my own gut feeling about this quilt, I added some more quilting to the plates.  WOW, I am so glad I did.  I love it even more than before.

Here is the before and after.

dresdanbaa

 

I am quite pleased!  Now it is off to Houston with Swan’s Song.  Yeah!!!

 

On a side note, I have been slacking off on designing new pantos.  But I finally got one done.  Here it is….. Glasgow!  It will be 25% off for the month of August.  🙂

glasgow

 

Hope you all have a fantastic Monday!!

Lisa

 

 

15 thoughts on “Confessions of a Competitive Quilter

  1. WOW Lisa!!!! Your quilt was gorgeous before but It’s spectacular now!!!! Love Glasgow…. Very pretty !

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. didn’t think it could be any better, but your right. good luck with your next submission. I know you’ll do great!

  3. oh Lisa, I loved this quilt at Quilt Odyssey, even blogged about it on my return. But would have never thought it needed more quilting. All the existing quilting just drew my eye’s to the already gorgeous piece. BUT, I must say, looking at your before and after picture, you are so right!!

    It is amazing how well we know in our hearts what a piece needs. I sure hope it ribbons at Houston!! Good Luck 🙂

  4. Wow, that was interesting. I think I would have done the same thing with leaving those areas un quilted. But after seeing them quilted, it really adds a ton of interest. You amaze me and what you do to quilt is so inspiring.

  5. Beautiful quilt!! I’m a new fan and just purchased some of your rulers and your DVD. Do you have any plans on doing a DVD on how you design the quilt top as a whole? I’m particular interested in how you design and cut the secondary borders around the center patchwork or appliqué such as in red velvet and swan song.

    • thank you so much. Right now, I don’t have any plans for a DVD about the quilt top design. I have given it a little thought but not sure how I would structure it since my designs evolve over time. Sometimes, I see immediately what I think will look good and go with it other times I agonize over it. LOL

Leave a Reply

