MQX Quilt Festival and other stuff….

Wow, what an incredible time I had at MQX Quilt Festival, New England!  To start, my sister in law who regularly helps me in my studio can with me this year.  She was invaluable, although she doesn’t see it!

Lisa and Judy

Lisa and Judy

We decided to drive since I wanted to bring all of my rulers to sell in my classes.  We arrived Tuesday night, in time for the ice cream social.  Thank you to all that came.

Wednesday was a long day!  I taught from 9am-7pm.  It was great!  I love when my students have their aha moment.  Especially when it comes from the skeptical ones.  🙂 I taught 3 different classes, Divide and Design, Mastering the Mini, whole cloth that is!, and Magnificent Medallions.  Here is a picture from my whole cloth class.

Mastering the Mini, Wholecloth that is!

Mastering the Mini, Wholecloth that is!

I am continually amazed at the talent out there.  Everyone in all of my classes created one of a kind designs.

Most of you know that I quilt on an A1 Elite.  Well, I can’t tell you how excited I am about the new upgrade!  It is the most amazing stitch regulator.  I will also be able to preprogram 5 different settings, so no more guessing as to what stitch length I used with rulers, fill work and design work!  Needless to say I ordered mine right away!  Thanks Stewart!

One of the other fun things that happened in New Hampshire is that Judy, my sister in law, ordered a Sweet Sixteen.  I am so excited for her…. and me, can’t wait to play although I really can’t quilt on a sit down.

 

I am just about done my first charity quilt of the year.  Last month I decided that I would do 1 a month.  This year’s will all go to Quilts for Kids.  If anyone would like to join me, I’d be happy to collect yours and send them along with mine.  These are small quilts so they are quick to put together and can even be machine quilted on a DSM.  I don NOT have that talent.  🙂

IMG_0590

See nothing fancy.

I am going to be putting some dates for summer workshops on my site.  If anyone has dates that they would like, please email me.  lisahcalle@me.com

I am also hoping to get some new classes going as well.  That is if I can get my brain to work.

Do you receive Machine Quilting Unlimited?  The May/June issue has the whole cloth challenge that I participated in along with 5 other incredible quilters.  Make sure you check it out.  If you are lucky enough to be traveling to Salt Lake City for HMQS , you will be able to see the quilts in person.

I just ordered my fabric for my next competition piece from CheFab!  Cannot wait to get this luscious fabric.  I am planning on doing a video journal of this quilt.  Can’t wait to get started.

The weather is getting warm… anyone know what that means… yup, Lisa will be golfing!  My love is divided between quilting and golf.  This year I have decided to participate in team matches.  Oh boy, this is going to be interesting as I am a much better quilter than golfer.  Wish me luck my first match is this coming Tuesday!  At least its on my home turf.

Happy Quilting!

5 thoughts on “MQX Quilt Festival and other stuff….

  1. Pingback: Machine Quilting Unlimited May/June Issue | Teri Lucas - TerifiCreations Blog

  2. MQX was a blast!! It was so nice meeting you in person and being able to have dinner with you guys. I look forward to playing with some of your rulers i purchased. And I look forward to seeing your new competition quilt. Happy Quilting Natalie

Leave a Reply

