March 13 2013

Do you enjoy public speaking?  I have to say, in school, I hated it.  Oral reports etc.  I was so sick with being nervous before the class.  It was horrible.  So, last year  I got a call from a guild in the area asking me to be a guest speaker.  HUH?  Me?  Oh boy, let me think on it and I will get back to you.  Well, I decided to do it.  I had the best time.  I put together my presentation, it was a cross between a trunk show and how to prepare your quilt for your longarmer.  The guild seemed to enjoy it and laughed at all the right spots…. unless they were laughing at me.  LOL   anyway, I jumped out of my comfort zone and it wasn’t bad.  Try it sometime!

I have been working on a project for April.  Those that are going to MQX East will be able to see it.  Here it is unquilted. I practiced my hand appliqué which really could use some more work.  I really would love to take a workshop with Karen Kay Buckley.  I better investigate that a little more.

IMG_0480

I have finally made it to Missoula!  I am so excited to  be here.  I will be giving a lecture this evening and a workshop tomorrow on Divide and Design.  It should be a lot of fun and I know I will be meeting a lot of quilters that I know from Facebook and other quilting chat sites.  I am going to try and take a lot of pictures of what everyone comes up with in the workshop and post them here.  I know… you don’t have to tell me… I am a really bad blogger.  But in my defense I was trying really hard to get Red Velvet done.

Well, I wish I could say that Red Velvet was completely done but I can’t.  I am currently hand sewing the tiniest beads around the perimeter of one of the borders.  I am going blind doing it as well.  I know in the end it is perfect for this quilt so I forge onward.  As some of you may know, I had a problem when blocking Red Velvet.  Even though I had pre washed my fabrics, the red bled into the quilt.  I was horrified and tried not to panic.  I used synthrapol and color catchers and it still did not come out.  I finally used Oxiclean Gel stick and actually put it in the washer on the hand wash cycle.  AHHH, it worked.  Thank goodness I didn’t waste months of time.

I am not very  good at practicing things before I try them out on a show quilt.  I am not sure why, probably a time factor.  Hula Hibiscus, it was the first time I tried curved piecing and the first time I tried paperless paper piecing. (for those that don’t know what that is, it is Sharon Schamber’s technique of paper piecing)  Swan’s Journey, it was the first time I used beads and the first time I did a curved binding.  Red Velvet, first time I tried a scallop border ( now, granted, 4 scallops don’t really count as a scalloped border but I was on a time constraint) I keep telling myself to stop practicing on my competition pieces but it keeps happening and probably will in the future as well.

If your like me, I really look at blogs for the eye candy so here is Red Velvet!

 

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “March 13 2013

  1. I am so glad to hear there are other crazy quilters like me out there. I consider every quilt practice and that extends to show quilts. What happens, happens…..Glad you got the red out, I will look forward to seeing it in person at a quilt show sometime.

  2. Thank you for coming to Missoula! I enjoyed your presentation, you did great! It was special to see your quilts in person and close up. Your quilts are very inspiring. Lots to think about for the next quilt! Michelle Baker

  3. I understand where you’re coming from when it comes to public speaking, but I’ve found out that public speaking is easy when it comes from the heart and when it’s about quilting! Bringing a lot of samples to class to show students also helps. Love your “Divide and Design” DVD

  4. Wow, Wow and Wow! Your work is magnificent! Do you mark your quilts before loading them onto your long arm or after? What pen(s) do you use to mark with? I enjoy following your blog and reading your posts on FB. Happy Quilting, Lee Ann (llively89@yahoo.com)

Leave a Reply

