Is Spring really here??? that means quilt show season. :)

The weather here in Southeastern Pa has been incredible.  77˚ yesterday!  Woo hoo, those that know me know that I can’t stand cold weather.  Let’s hope it stays this way!

My new DVD has arrived and I have gotten all preorders shipped out. Thank you all.  Make sure you let me know what you think and send pictures of quilts that you use  the Divide and Design technique on.

With the spring show season upon us… here is the reveal of this years quilt!  I have been working and planning this quilt since last July.  The main motifs were digitized by Patricia Ritter of Urban Elementz and converted by Jessica Shick of Digitech.  Thank you ladies for an outstanding job.  The quilt is a whole cloth and a tribute to my father, George Swan Hagstoz Jr. , who lost his battle with cancer on Oct 20 2011 after a 2 year hard fought battle.  The motifs on this quilt were used on my previous show quilt, Swan’s Journey but were done freehand.  I decided on a whole cloth as my tribute because while on earth he was in pain and was suffering but once in heaven he was  whole again! His initials are in the center surrounded by the 12 teardrop shapes which represent his wife,  children and grandchildren.

Introducing

Swan’s Song

I have finished Patricia’s quilt.  Remember the post about avoiding pitfalls.  One that I tend to fall into is doing custom work on a quilt that it might not show well on.  I chose a dark thread that I thought would show.  The open space fabric had dots on it so it was really kind of busy.  Here is a picture.

Here is a picture of close up. You will be able to see what I mean but the fabric is busy.

I could have done an all over design on this quilt and it would have looked great!  I am pretty bummed since this quilt is going to hang in Patricia’s booth at Paducah.  I even used our new pattern Spider Lily!  Sorry P, wish you could see it better!

HMQS Challenge quilt!  I have been working hard on my challenge quilt.  I have all 4 corners done and now am on to the borders.  That is this weekends project!  Here is the pic, that is what the border unit will look like.

The black and white fabric in the corner are the challenge fabrics.  I think I am going to have to put another border on since we are suppose to use a recognizable amount of it.  I’ll have to see how it looks when the border units are completed!  Can’t wait to quilt this!

Hope you all have Spring Fever as bad as I do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

