My father’s passing

My father passed away on Thursday morning, he was with my Mom and to hear her tell it, it was beautiful.  It has only been 2 days but feels like 2 months.  I woke up crying in my sleep at 5 in the morning.  I would like to believe that  he visited me.  My   George, Kirsten and I traveled to Hilton Head yesterday to be with my Mom.  She is an incredibly strong woman and I admire her very much.

It was much more difficult to walk through the door of the house than expected.  It hit me quite hard.  I put my things down and went into their bedroom, grabbed the quilt that I made him and laid down on his side of the bed and cried for a while.  (Lise, you would have been proud of me)

It has been fun remembering all of the good times we had and what a huge impact Dad had on so many people.  He wore so many hats, he was daddy, father,  coach, golf coach, disciplinarian ( of course not for me, because I was so good. 😉  ), mentor, teacher, but the best was when I was truly able to call him Friend.  If you never knew him, you missed out on an incredible man.  Over the past day, I have heard many people say that he never had a bad word to say about anyone.  And that no one can say anything bad about him except that he was a slow golfer.  We know Dad, you are not slow just deliberate.  His love of golf was only exceeded by his love of his family.

The four of us, (it sounds funny saying that) spent last night together, talking, laughing and crying.  Oh yeah, and drinking wine! and lots of it (Yes Kimmy,  it’s okkkkkk)

17 thoughts on “My father’s passing

  1. Lisa:

    Reading your very moving tribute to your dad and seeing the picture of the four of you together last evening smiling and laughing brought this to the forefront of my mind:

    Don’t cry because it’s over, Smile because it happened. – Dr. Seuss

  2. My sincere condolences, Lisa. I can give you a positive thought. As the months pass, the loss of your father won’t go away, but for me, instead of being sad every time I think of my Mom – which is often, I find it comforting. There are times I still come to tears when I think of her, but more often, I just feel the warmth and closeness. He will always be with you.

  3. Lisa – I’m so sorry for your loss. How fortunate you were to have a wonderful father. I was also so blessed. Everyone in our area knew my father and everyone would call out to him as we walked down the street. I felt (as Francie says, in A Tree Grows in Brooklyn) as though I were walking with a king. Hard to believe he has been gone 45 years tomorrow. I still miss him so.

    God bless you and your family.

  4. Im so sorry for your loss of your dad. Unfortunately words just arent enough but know we are all thinking of you and wishing you days ahead when you can move forward and remember all your good days with your dad.

  5. A beautiful tribute Lisa. As the saying goes, “Anyone can be a father but it takes a real man to be a Dad.” It sounds like he was a natural at being a Dad! Keeping you and your family in my thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

