May 6, 2010

It feels like ages ago that we were at MQX and now we are getting ready to go to MQS next week.  While we had a great time at MQX, I received some bad news while there.  My Dad’s cancer had returned.  He had Lymphoma 12 years ago.  After some additional tests etc.. it is not lymphoma.  That would have been good news.  He has bladder cancer.  Today my mom and him are at MUSC, Medical University of South Carolina, to obtain a second opinion and to get treatment options.  The past couple of weeks have been fairly emotional.  Please keep him in your prayers.

I have started my next “project”.  Here is the collection of fabrics I have chosen.

It will be a combination of applique and piecing.  I might keep this one under wraps until it is finished!  Not sure yet.

For those of you who went to the AQS Lancaster show, I just found out that the quilt on the cover of the program used one of my designs, Oh my Feathers!  Very exciting.  I was even at the show and didn’t see it.  LOL  I think I need to be more observant.

After much consideration, I have decided to start teaching again.  I will be hold ing classes in my new studio at my home.  I am currently developing some new classes, a beginner longarm class, where we go over everything from loading the quilt, to design choices, pricing etc. and  for the more advanced quilter, Divide and Design.  This class will focus on how to view a quilt, divide up the open spaces and then design for those spaces.  I hope to have them ready to go in the fall once the kids go back to school.

Intelligent Quilting, a pattern company owned by myself and Karen Thompson is now on Facebook!  It is so much fun to get to chat with our customers and we love when you all post pictures of the quilts that you completed with our designs.  Come join us!

7 thoughts on “May 6, 2010

  1. Lovely colours Lisa…I’m sure you’ll end up with another stunner…you are very talented..
    Sorry about your Dad…been there done that with Mum…life can be cruel at times…being positive helps..hopefully they can treat him successfully ..
    Good luck with your new teaching venture..what a good idea..see, there was a reason you needed that lovely new studio..lol..way to go flo…hope it’s successful for you..I’m sure it will be..

  2. Good to see you blogging again Lisa – I need to take a leaf out of your book. We are still in the US – leave for home tomorrow. After visiting your home your blog and photos seem familiar now. Good luck with the classes – I wish you success! You know you’re in my thoughts and all the very best with your Dad and sister! Hugs, Shaz

    • HI Shaz,
      It was sooo wonderful to have you and your husband here. I hope to be able to come visit you sometime! I have always wanted to see Australia!

  3. Lisa,
    I hope that you’ve since received good news about your Dad.
    The new studio is gorgeous and I think it’s great that you’ll be teaching. Do you think you’ll do any IQ classes? It would be great to not have to wait until MQX every year.

    Your quilts are breathtaking, I’ve always thought so. You do such intricate motifs; where do you get your inspiration?

    Have a great day!!

    • HI Eileen,
      Dad started his chemo and now it is waiting till he is half way through to see if it is working. Thank you for asking,
      I probably won’t do any IQ classes but you never know. LOL
      My inspiration comes from all around me. I watch tv and look at the graphics, magazines, kids shows etc.
      How is that grandchild of yours??

Leave a Reply

