First Post…..hmmm

I am not sure why I have  decided to start a blog.  It is not like I have a lot to say but thought that I could keep my family up to date as to what is going on in my life.  So I am not sure how good I will be at keeping this up.  LOL I have never been very good at keeping an kind of diary.

I have been struggling with getting work done.  I would love to take a hiatus from customer quilts and just work on my own for a while.  The all over designs aren’t the hard ones but the time it takes for custom has been tough.  I know it will get easier once the kids are back at school but I really would love to just do MY own. 

The kids are great.  We all went to the outlets last night and then to dinner.  It was nice to spend some time together as a family.  Brody did great despite that it was well past his bedtime.  Noah tried lobster for the first time and LIKED it.  He is my picky eater.  Brandon went with the usual…. a burger. 

Today, I hope to work on my challenge quilt.  Ronda Beyer designed the beautiful center medallion.  The rules of the challenge, use a color you don’t like and you can only use fabrics from your stash….  I don’t have much of a stash so it has definitely been a challenge.    I used a fabric that I bought in 2005, that I don’t know WHAT  I was thinking.  Here is what I have so far.

Fabric selection

Fabric selection

Center Medallion designed by Ronda Beyer

Center Medallion designed by Ronda Beyer

First border added

First border added

deciding on next step

deciding on next step

next step

next step

 

this is the one

this is the one

Next border

Next border

Hopefully will have all of these borders done this weekend.  But who knows what life happenings will get in the way!!

2 thoughts on “First Post…..hmmm

  1. Okay, so those beautiful pictures seen above are of quilts that are made from pieces etc that you DON’T like???? Umm..ok..I’m not a quilter, don’t even know how to glue a patch on my kids TKD uniform but I do know what ugly is… and by NO means do they appear ugly!
    Love your blog and so happy to see your sharing your gift with the rest of the world.

  2. Very nice. I really like your work. Glad you decided to start blogging. Would love to be able to click on the pictures to get a closer look. 🙂 Especially would like to see how you added on the first boarder. Was it paper pieced? Did you draft it yourself?

    Share please :-)….

    Renee (aka Ranunculas)

Leave a Reply

