Taming the domestic machine – Take 2

Standard

So I tried all of the advice you all so kindly gave me.  It feels different which is good.  I just have to wrap my head around the fact that I am moving the paper and NOT the pencil.  LOL

I am by no means giving up.  Here is Take 2 of my meander stipple..

I know, not much improvement but I’ll get there.  Check back to see if I improve!

Tomorrow I pick up my new BERNINA 750QE!  I am so excited!  Maybe that will make me improve.  LOL  It certainly won’t hurt it because it can’t get much worse.. I don’t think.  I give all of you who successfully quilt on your domestic ALOT of credit!  It is certainly not easy.

Happy Quilting!

Lisa

13 responses »

  1. You seem to do what I find myself doing with stippling – lots of stipples ending up the same size in a row! I have a hard time breaking myself of that repetition so that may account for the fact that I really don’t like to stipple and rarely do it. I also can’t quilt on my DSM – I am in awe of anyone who can! Rather feels like going back to preschool after you have been through graduate school, right?

  2. Looks pretty good for your first attempt….after I do a few stiples I try to swing back and make some in another direction…..how are you keeping your layers together???

  3. If you don’t have a cabinet that the machine can sit down into, a large acrylic extension table would be very handy. It’s important that you have a fairly large flat space all around the machine. Also, try as many ‘tools’ to help move your quilt sandwich as you can until you find something that works for you. When I taught domestic machine quilting, I had several things for the students to try…like gloves with little plastic dots, gloves called ‘Machingers’, rubber finger tips that you can get at an office supply store, the round ‘halo’ type things such as Sharon Schaumber has, and my personal favorite, the glycerine type stuff that you rub on your fingers…the stuff that they use at the bank to sort money or in an office to handle papers. This stuff doesn’t stain, is non-toxic, and you just rub it into your fingertips. Everyone has their favorite way of controlling that quilt sandwich, but the least effective way I have found is to grab a couple of fists full of quilt sandwich….keeping it flat works better. Keep at it….you will do a beautiful job!

  4. You may what to try the supreme slider! It make the quilt move easier! When I try to practice stippling the curves get me into trouble. The top thread gets pulled to much, not sure why!

  5. Sounds like you have a lot of advice — remember the learning curve you had on the long arm? The one on your domestic will be more shallow — more variables and slower progress. Only ‘time in’ will improve the look of your quilting. And things like fingers versus palm is preference. I do fingertips when doing tiny movements and palms the remainder — less stress on my fingers. It is not so much about the look of your quilted line, rather were you able to place the line where you intended? That happens with hours and hours of practice. Perfect practice makes perfect. And you get good at what you do — improve your stippling by stippling. Or improve your quilting by quilting…

  6. Personally I don’t like to use the stippling stitch for my quilting. I’ve quilted 4 bedsized quilts on my regular sewing machine with a 7″ throat space. I used swirls and a floral type overall motif. I’m now quilting one that is 95″ square on my new Juki. I’m using a special ruler foot and doing my first curved cross hatching spaced quarter inch apart. Its not perfect but I’m enjoying the learning process.

  7. I’m so glad you are sharing this! So many people say that longarm quilting and domestic quilting are so similar when in actuality they are quite different! So I’m glad you are showing that :-)

  8. HI there, I have a mid arm that works like a long arm and I learned my domestic quilting skills from Cindy Needham she has 2 great classes on craftsy that are very helpful with domestic quilting. I will quilt my basic lines on the frame and then move the quilt to my domestic machine for detail work.

Leave a Reply

