January 2013

It is hard to believe that it is already 2013, where has time gone.  It seems like just yesterday I got my first longarm.  This will be my 9th year.  Yikes, does this mean I am getting older?  Nah, I think I am like a fine wine and get better with age.  :)

I have finished the top I was working on (the dresdan plate).  This poor quilt will need a name so if anything jumps out at you please feel free to share it.  I am terrible at naming my quilts.

dresdanplateThe final product will not be square.  I had originally intended it to have the same shape as the interior but that will not happen as I realized the sides might droop while hanging…. so I have changed the plan and am quite happy with how it evolved.  I will post pics once it is done.

I am now onto my favorite part, the designing.  Of course, I use the Divide and Design Method that I teach in my DVD.  Here is what I have so far.  I am attempting to figure out the borders now. ( That is what made me realize they needed to be modified.)

IMG_0389
IMG_0390

IMG_0391

This should be loaded on Monday… Hopefully.  I will post in progress pics.  

 

11 thoughts on “January 2013

  1. Wow looks great!! I’ ve had my longarm machine about 4 yrs….my quilting does not compare to yours….Nannette

  2. It’s going to be beautiful and I can’t wait to see it quilted. When I first opened my email and saw it, it looked Christmasy to me so I was thinking of that type of name. Then I enlarged the pic and see that the plates are gray. Hmmm… Scarlet plates, Scarlet………..

  3. My eyes were drawn to the center of the first picture, and I saw a compass with 4 points which also looked like the Northern Star. As I look at the overlays, though, that star gets lost in the quilting, which is good, too. You still have 4 corners in it and 4 points within the 4 corners. I can’t think of a name for it, but perhaps you can think of the “direction” your life has taken with quilting (for a name)???

  4. Hi Lisa, so happy for all your success. As soon as I saw your quilt I thought of Red Velvet cake (hmm, considering I just started Atkins diet, seeing an escape for enjoying cake in your quilt!!). So I think Red Velvet Plate!

Leave a Reply

